Kings Go Forth Set Debut

On April 20 Luaka Bop will release the debut album by Kings Go Forth, the Milwaukee based soul band co-founded by Andy Noble, proprietor of the fabled Lotus Land record shop, and long time Milwaukee area R&B performer Black Wolf.

Following a string of seven inches lauded by soul music blogs and spun by the likes of DJ Shadow, the new album features artwork by Mingering Mike - the first time the celebrated artist has ever created art for a recording that actually exists - and a mix by Tom Moulton, the legendary producer and originator of the remix and 12-inch single format. The band's music has been featured as the soundtrack to the popular Funny or Die clip "High Five Inauguration" (viewed hundreds of thousands of times), and Noble, along with his family of cultural instigators, was the subject of the documentary 'Super Noble Brothers,' eight years in the making.

The album features 10 original songs written by Noble and Wolf including the Moulton mix "Don't Take My Shadow" and features Andy Noble on bass, Dave Wake on keyboards, guitarist Dan Flynn, percussionist Cecilio Negron, Jr., the explosive drummer Jeremy Kuzniar, Trombonist Dave Cusma and trumpeter Jed Groser.

KGF was co-founded by Noble and Wolf after the two met in Andy's record shop circa 2004. An immensely talented singer and writer, Wolf has performed around Milwaukee since the 1970s and, as a member of The Essentials, recorded at Curtis Mayfield's Curtom studios. Since meeting they have assembled a powerhouse group that is simply one of the most thrillingly creative new bands to be heard, in any genre, in the U.S.A. today, delivering it all with fierce urgency and undeniable emotional commitment.

Kings Go Forth are confirmed to play at SXSW in March with additional tour dates to be announced.

'The Outsiders Are Back' Track List

1. One Day
2. I Don't Love You No More
3. You're the One
4. Fight With Love
5. High On Your Love
6. Paradise Lost
7. Don't Take My Shadow
8. Now We're Gone
9. 1000 Songs
10. Get A Feeling

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Kings Go Forth CDs

Kings Go Forth MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.