.

Sheryl Crow Announces Soul Album and Tour Plans

05/06/2010
.
Sheryl Crow will take a stab at soul music with her new studio album 100 Miles From Memphis, which is due for release July 20th on A&M Records.

Crow will hit the road with a string of June dates followed by a headlining slot on the first five Lillith Fair dates. After the release of 100 Miles From Memphis Crow will debut a new live band to take her funky new sound on the road.

Growing up in Kennett, Missouri, 100 miles from Memphis, Crow grew up listening to the irresistible soul sounds on the radio coming out of Memphis in the late 60s; Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett, Booker T, Aretha Franklin and early 70s; Al Green, Curtis Mayfield, Marvin Gaye, Sly Stone and Aretha Franklin, all of which shaped the artist Sheryl Crow is today.

'I feel artistically revitalized and the music feels fresh and at the same time very familiar to what I do," says Crow in a letter to her fans posted on her website this week. "Many of my past songs such as "Run Baby Run," "My Favorite Mistake," "Now That You're Gone" and others are already steeped in this style."

Produced by the team of Doyle Bramhall II and Justin Stanley (Eric Clapton), 100 Miles From Memphis was recorded at Electric Lady Studios in New York, Henson Recording in Los Angeles and Sheryl's Nashville based home studio Cross Creek. A talented line up of musicians has recorded on the album including Tommy Simms on bass, Chris Bruce on guitar, Victor Indrizzo and Homer Steinweiss on drums and Jeff Babko on keyboards.

Friday, June 11 Chattanooga, TN Riverbend Festival
Saturday, June 12 Elizabeth, IN Horseshoe Casino
Sunday, June 13 Highland Park, IL Ravinia Pavilion
Monday, June 14 Interlochen, MI Kresge Auditorium
Tuesday, June 15 Kettering, OH Fraze Pavilion @ Lincoln Park Center
Thursday, June 17 Vienna, VA The Filene Center
Friday, June 18 Cleveland, OH State Theater
Saturday, June 19 Clarkston, MI DTE Energy Music Theater
Monday, June 21 Charlottesville, VA Charlottesville Pavillion
Tuesday, June 22 Portsmouth, VA nTELOS Wireless Pavilion
Thursday, June 24 Milwaukee, WI Summerfest
Saturday, June 26 Bridgeview, IL Crossroads Guitar Festival

Lillith Fair dates
Sunday, June 27 Calgary, AL McMahon Stadium
Monday, June 28 Edmonton, AB Northlands Spectrum
Thursday, July 1 Vancouver, BC Pitt Meadow Airport
Friday, July 2 Portland, OR The Amphitheater @ Clark County
Saturday, July 3 George, WA The Gorge Amphitheater


August/September dates will feature new touring band!
Thursday, Aug 12 Gilford, NH Meadowbrook
Friday, Aug 13 Canandaigua, NY Constellation Brands Marvin Sands PAC
Saturday, Aug 14 Atlantic City, NJ Caesar's Circus Maximus
Sunday, Aug 15 Cary, NC Koka Booth Amphitheater
Thursday, Aug 19 Atlanta, GA Verizon Wireless Amphitheater
Saturday, Aug21 Sedalia, MO Missouri State Fairground Grandstand
Sunday, Aug 22 Des Moines, IA Iowa State Fair
Tuesday, Aug 24 Tulsa, OK Brady Theater
Thursday, Aug 26 Grand Prairie, TX Nokia Theater @ Grand Prairie
Saturday, Aug 28 Bee Cave, TX The Backyard
Tuesday, Aug 31 Morrison, CO Red Rocks Amphitheater
Wednesday, Sept 1 Salt Lake City, UT Red Butte Garden Amphitheater
Thursday, Sept 9 San Diego, CA Humphreys Concerts by the Bay
Friday, Sept 10 Los Angeles, CA The Greek Theater
Saturday, Sept 11 Las Vegas, NV The Joint
Tuesday, Sept 14 Saratoga, NY The Mountain Winery
Wednesday, Sept 15 Saratoga, NY The Mountain Winery
Thursday, Sept 16 Santa Ynes, CA Chumash Casino
Friday, Sept 17 Murphy, CA Ironstone Vineyards


Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Sheryl Crow CDs

Sheryl Crow MP3 Downloads


advertisement

advertisement


Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.