Scott Hardkiss Remixed

God Within Recordings is back with Beat Freak EP, the latest in the series of eclectic remix EPs featuring tracks off of Scott Hardkiss' acclaimed LP Technicolor Dreamer.

Remixers this time around include Paul Woolford, Q-Burns Abstract Message, Fort Knox Five and Scott Hardkiss.

Beat Freak EP includes the original, instrumental and acappella versions of the song, taking it and the EP series in a bold new direction with a diverse mix of styles and the most dancefloor-friendly mixes in the series to date.

Paul Woolford, who's remixed everyone from Depeche Mode to the Juan Maclean to Simian Mobile Disco, starts things off with a ferocious tech-house take on the track which takes the original Detroit techno sound and fast-forwards to the future. He builds up his trademark powerful drum programming with rolling 909 snares & percussion and then morphs into a relentless angular piano groove that will take big-room clubs by storm. Included is a driving, bass-heavy minimal dub version that also takes no prisoners.

Scott Hardkiss transforms the fun & funky bounce of his original mix into a moody club remix with much more serious intentions. This bubbling electronic voyage envelops all in a haze of deliciously dark beauty featuring gated synths, ever-shifting rhythms, and a very heavy bassline, all culminating in a classic dramatic Hardkiss breakdown. Scott's dub strips away the vocals and focuses on the immense, trancey groove with additional keyboards provided by producers extraordinaire Eric Stamile & Alex Moulton.

Q-Burns Abstract Message, who's released albums on Astralwerks and remixed a wide range of artists including Gus Gus, Fila Brazilia, and Rabbit in the Moon, delivers an absolute stunner of a remix which comes off as warm, hypnotic space-disco and packs plenty of tricks up its sleeve, including repeated false endings that'll drive the dancefloor insane and a dramatic sci-fi section in the middle that sounds like the mothership has finally landed. As if this epic mix wasn't enough he also throws in a pumping dub mix which, with its churning bassline & modulating 303 acid synth-lines, wouldn't sound a bit out of place at any classic acid-house party in Chicago or London circa '88.

Fort Knox Five, who've remixed Tito Puente, Tower of Power and A.Skillz & Krafty Kuts among others, take the funky party-jam feel of the original and run with their infectious breakbeat remix. Coming correct with booming 808 beats & bass, 70's style horn stabs, freestyle synths & early-80's electro-boogie vocoders, it's enough to have you break out the cardboard and start practicing your backspin. And the party doesn't stop there as the boys unleash an accompanying instrumental version for extended popping & locking sessions.

The track listing for the Beat Freak EP:
1. Beat Freak (feat. The Prophetz)
2. Beat Freak (Paul Woolford Remix)
3. Beat Freak (Scott Hardkiss Remix)
4. Beat Freak (Q-Burns Abstract Message Remix)
5. Beat Freak (Fort Knox Five Remint)
6. Beat Freak (Instrumental)
7. Beat Freak (Paul Woolford Dub)
8. Beat Freak (Scott Hardkiss Dub)
9. Beat Freak (Q-Burns Abstract Message Dub)
10. Beat Freak (Fort Knox Five Instrumental)
11. Beat Freak (Acappella)

For the Beat Freak EP, each artist involved adds their own unique style to create an EP that you'll hear blasting from sound systems both in the club and on the street all summer long. It also follows three amazing EPs: You're The Star EP featuring remixes by Robbie Rivera and Kris Menace, Come On, Come EP featuring remixes by Joe Claussell and Morgan Geist, and Come On, Come On (Part II) EP featuring remixes by Dean & Britta, DJ Phunkae and Scott Hardkiss.

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Scott Hardkiss CDs

Scott Hardkiss MP3 Downloads