Richard Thompson's Dream Attic Coming In August

Richard Thompson returns with Dream Attic, a collection of 13 new songs, due out August 31 on Shout! Factory.

Penned during a short and inspired burst of creative outpouring, Thompson captured the awesome energy of his live show by recording the album in front of an audience. "I don't think musicians playing on their own are particularly interesting, it's only when they play in front of an audience that something interesting happens," Thompson said in an interview at the show.

The songs were performed during a West Coast tour in February of this year, and the bulk of the performances that made the album come from three shows at the Great American Music Hall in San Francisco. A special edition of the set containing a second disc of all 13 demos will be available exclusively on www.RichardThompsonDreamAttic.com.

Dream Attic was produced by Thompson and longtime cohort Simon Tassano, and they vividly captured the inspired interaction of the players. The musicians appearing on the album with Thompson are Pete Zorn (guitars, flute, sax, mandolin), Michael Jerome (drums), Taras Prodaniuk (bass), and Joel Zifkin (violin, mandolin). "The thing about recording live is that you lose accuracy but you gain energy; you lose choices but you gain immediacy," Thompson says about his decision to work in a live setting. But at the same time, the accuracy is marvelously maintained thanks to the elevated musicianship, frequently leading to extended passages of eruptive forcefulness topped by one after another of Thompson's jaw-dropping solo forays.

The album opens explosively with "The Money Shuffle," which Thompson says is "dedicated to our good friends on Wall Street who did such a fine job lately…. It's just a mild satire." The resulting take is the antithesis of mild, building toward an absolutely scalding guitar solo. From this bracing start, the sequence rolls through traditionally rooted balladry ("Among the Gorse, Among the Grey"), sharply drawn character studies ("Here Comes Geordie"), image-filled observations ("Burning Man") and recollections of bygone eras ("Demons in Her Dancing Shoes," set in the East End of London in the '60s). "Sidney Wells" is a traditional murder ballad in modern dress, "Crimescene" is a raging reaction to the inexorable aging process. "A Brother Slips Away" is a moving elegy to friends the 61-year-old Thompson has lost within the last year, and "Big Sun Falling in the River" is a buoyantly Beatlesque instant classic. The record ends as dynamically as it began, with "If Love Whispers Your Name," a ballad in ¾ time that works itself up to a breathtaking widescreen climax.

To preserve the freshness of the experience, the players went through minimal preparation before embarking on the eight-date mini-tour. "We learned how to play the songs as we went," says Thompson. And that was precisely how the bandleader wanted it. "It's good to be comfortable up to a point," he says. "What you want ideally is to be comfortable and challenged." On several levels, Thompson notes, these 2010 shows felt not terribly different from Fairport's very first tour of the States in 1970, which followed the exit of Sandy Denny. "That particular incarnation of Fairport was a very musical, well rehearsed and tight band," Thompson recalls.

Dream Attic Track Listing:

1. The Money Shuffle
2. Among the Gorse, Among the Grey
3. Haul Me Up
4. Burning Man
5. Here Comes Geordie
6. Demons in Her Dancing Shoes
7. Crimescene
8. Big Sun Falling in the River
9. Stumble On
10. Sidney Wells
11. A Brother Slips Away
12. Bad Again
13. If Love Whispers Your Name

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Richard Thompson CDs

Richard Thompson MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2020 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.