William Shatner Recruits Ritchie Blackmore, Zakk Wylde, Michael Schenker, Davies and Frampton For New Album

(Gibson) Reports about William Shatner's new album have been leaking out from some time now, but a final tracklist (and all-star guest list) has finally been announced. Ritchie Blackmore, Warren Haynes, Zakk Wylde, Brad Paisley and Peter Frampton will be assisting "Captain Kirk" on 19 space-themed songs by Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, David Bowie and others.

Titled Searching for Major Tom (it was formerly Seeking Major Tom), the album is due out later this year on Cleopatra Records.

As previously reported, Shatner was thrilled to have Wylde appear on the record, and said, "He's fantastic! I'm energized."

Searching for Major Tom tracklist:
1. "Space Trucking" (Deep Purple) Ian Paice on drums and Johnny Winter on guitar
2. "She Blinded Me with Science" (Thomas Dolby) Bootsy Collins on bass and Patrick Moraz (Yes) on keyboards
3. "In a Little While" (U2) Manuel Gottsching on guitar
4. "Empty Glass" (The Tea Party) Michael Schenker on guitar
5. "Lost in the Stars" (Frank Sinatra) Ernie Watts on saxophone
6. "Twilight Zone" (Golden Earring) Warren Haynes on guitar
7. "Space Cowboy" (Steve Miller Band) Brad Paisley on guitar and vocals
8. "Rocket Man" (Elton John) Steve Hillage on guitar
9. "Space Oddity" (David Bowie) Ritchie Blackmore on guitar and Alan Parsons on keyboards
10. "Spirit in the Sky" (Norman Greenbaum) Peter Frampton on guitar
11. "Bohemian Rhapsody" (Queen) John Wetton on bass and vocals
12. "Silver Machine" (Hawkwind) Wayne Kramer on guitar and Carmine Appice on drums
13. "Major Tom" (Peter Shilling) Nick Valensi on guitar, Zakk Wylde on guitar and Mike Inez on bass
14. "Learning to Fly" (Pink Floyd) Edgar Froese on guitar and keyboards
15. "Mr. Spaceman" (The Byrds) Dave Davies on guitar
16. "Iron Man" (Black Sabbath) Zakk Wylde on guitar and vocals
17. "Planet Earth" (Duran Duran) Steve Howe on guitar
18. "Walking on the Moon" (The Police) Toots (of Toots and the Maytals) on vocals
19. "Mrs. Major Tom" female vocalist to be announced

Gibson.com is an official news provider for the Day in Rock.

Preview and Purchase William Shatner CDs

William Shatner MP3 Downloads



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.