Cotton Mather's Out Of Print Classic Kontiki To Be Reissued

(FP) Cotton Mather will reissue their long out-of-print landmark power pop album Kontiki on Valentine's Day, 2012. The album was originally released in the US in 1997 with little fanfare.

In the UK, however, Kontiki was a smash with Uncut Magazine giving the album five stars and calling it "music to smile yourself to death to." Mojo said the songs were "brought to life with daring vitality" and in its own five-star review, The Guardian called Kontiki "a bewildering, dizzy thrill."

With the spotlight shining on the album in their homeland, Oasis brothers Noel and Liam Gallagher discovered and fell in love with Kontiki. The Gallaghers started talking about the record in the press themselves, helping to spur on a cult following for the album among musicians all over the globe. A fellow Austin-ite and fan from the beginning, Spoon's Britt Daniel also began to spread the word, and over the years, the adoration of Kontiki continued to grow, leading band leader Robert Harrison to prepare Kontiki (Deluxe Edition).

Scheduled for release on February 14th, 2012 on Harrison's own Star Apple Kingdom label, the two-CD deluxe format will include the original album along with four-track demos, acoustic versions and songs that didn't make the final cut. Harrision funded the reissue via a Kickstarter campaign made successful by the many fans that Kontiki created since 1997. The campaign was undoubtedly also helped by the profound endorsements and damn funny presentation captured in this promo film seen here.

Disc 1:

01. Camp Hill Rail Operator
02. Homefront Cameo
03. Spin My Wheels
04. My Before and After
05. Private Ruth
06. Vegetable Row
07. Aurora Bori Alice
08. Church of Wilson
09. Lily Dreams On
10. Password
11. Animal Show Drinking Song
12. Prophecy For the Golden Age
13. She's Only Cool
14. Autumn's Birds

Disc 2:

01. Homefront Cameo (4-Track)
02. Pine Box Builder #1
03. Camp Hill Rail Operator (Acoustic)
04. Little Star
05. Baby Freeze Queen #1
06. Altar Boy (Live at The Hit Shack)
07. Flying Annie's Kite
08. Innocent Street (Acoustic)
09. Spin My Wheels (Electric)
10. Church of Wilson (4-Track)
11. Private Ruth (Acoustic)
12. The Gold Gone Days

Cotton Mather CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Cotton Mather T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.