Traffic's John Barleycorn Must Die Again

Universal will release a deluxe edition of Traffic's John Barleycorn Must Die on March 8th, 2011 featuring alternate takes, live tracks and previously unreleased material. Here is the background they sent over:

John Barleycorn Must Die is the Traffic album that almost never was, but which is now commonly regarded as their definitive work. By 1970, still only 22, Steve Winwood had already served time at the heart of The Spencer Davis Group, as a founder member of Traffic, and with the supergroup Blind Faith. What started out as Steve Winwood's solo debut, originally to be called Mad Shadows (a title later filched by Mott The Hoople), John Barleycorn Must Die became Traffic's third and most fully realized studio album.

Originally a project where Steve Winwood planned to play every instrument himself, he began recording in the Autumn of 1969. Then, after taking time out in January 1970 to participate in Ginger Baker's Airforce, Winwood returned to his solo album in February. The next piece to be committed to tape was 'Glad', a jazz influenced instrumental based upon a piano part that Winwood had been toying with for some time. With the input of Jim Capaldi's drumming and Chris Wood's saxophone, the piece took upon a new lease of life. "It was obvious to all of us that we should really give Traffic another go," said Winwood soon after.

Songs like 'Glad' and 'Freedom Rider' reflect Winwood's time with Blind Faith, more improvised, jazzier and more expansive than anything on Traffic's earlier albums. The real surprise package, however, was the inclusion of the acoustic, seventeenth century traditional folk song 'John Barleycorn Must Die'.

John Barleycorn Must Die was the album that Traffic had always threatened to make and where they truly fulfilled their promise. It was released in July 1970 and was a Top Five album in America, easily their most successful album there, reaching No. 11 in the UK.

In support of the album, Traffic toured America where their shows at the Fillmore East, New York, on November 18th and 19th were taped. A scheduled Live -November 70 album, mixed down from the Fillmore East, was never released. These much bootlegged recordings are now officially released for the first time on Disc Two of this new deluxe edition along with alternate takes of 'John Barleycorn Must Die', 'Stranger To Himself' and 'Every Mother's Son'.

Traffic began as a collective of Birmingham based musicians in April 1967 who defined the concept of 'getting it together in the country' in the way they prepared their debut album, Mr Fantasy (1968), their second album, simply titled Traffic (1969), reflected a band torn between pop and more serious musical ambitions and intentions. When Steve Winwood left Traffic to join Blind Faith in January 1969, the group split up, Island released a third album, Last Exit, which rounded up left over live recordings and studio material.

John Barleycorn Must Die set a template for a rejuvenated Traffic which, with an expanded and fluctuating line up, continued to record and tour successfully, making their final appearance at the Reading Festival in August 1974.

01: Glad ( 6:59 )
02: Freedom Rider ( 5:30 )
03: Empty Pages ( 4:34 )
04: Stranger To Himself ( 3:57 )
05: John Barleycorn Must Die ( 6:27 )
06: Every Mother's Son ( 7:08 )

01: Stranger To Himself Alternate mix ( 4:10 )
02: John Barleycorn Must Die First version ( 5:10 )
03: Every Mother's Son Alternate mix ( 7:01 )
04: Back Stage and Introduction ( 1:44 ) *
05: Medicated Goo Live ( 4:38 ) *
06: Empty Pages Live ( 5:03 ) *
07: Forty Thousand Headmen Live ( 4:50 ) *
08: Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring ? Live ( 5:21 ) *
09: Every Mother's Son Live ( 7:08 ) *
10: Glad / Freedom Rider Live ( 14:40 ) *
*Recorded Live at The Fillmore East 18th and 19th November 1970

Preview and Purchase Traffic CDs

Traffic MP3 Downloads




Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.