Derek Trucks, Vince Gill, Warren Haynes and More For Johnny Winter Album

(Gibson) Guitar great Johnny Winter will pay tribute to his blues heroes with the help of an all-star cast on his new album, according to Billboard.com. Roots will be released on September 17 and is his first recording for Megaforce Records.

For the album, his first since 2004's I'm a Blues Man, Winter has put together quite the lineup � Sonny Landreth, Derek Trucks, Susan Tedeschi, John Medeski, Vince Gill, Warren Haynes, John Popper, Jimmy Vivino and Johnny's brother Edgar Winter contribute their talents. The album's focus is on the songs that inspired Winter in his 42-year career.

"Every song I loved � they're all big influences on me," Winter said. "It's way past time for me [to record an album like this]."

Roots features classics such as Robert Johnson's "I Believe I'll Dust My Broom," Chuck Berry's "Maybellene," Jimmy Reed's "Bright Lights, Big City" and Elmore James' "Done Somebody Wrong." The Winter brothers teamed up for "Honky Tonk." more on this story

Gibson.com is an official news provider for the Day in Rock.

Johnny Winter Music and T-shirts and Posters

Johnny Winter T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article