Overmountain Men Set New Album Release

Overmountain Men featuring Bob Crawford of Avett Bros. and David Childers will release their sophomore effort, The Next Best Thing, on Ramseur Records on January 22, 2012.

The core of Overmountain Men is Bob Crawford, bass player for The Avett Brothers on bass and vocals; the Charlotte-based singer/songwriter, David Childers on guitar and vocals; guitarist Randy Saxon, who also contributes banjo and mandolin; and drummer/percussionist Robert Childers. The players include a plethora of great players from the Carolinas, including Scott Daley on piano; Geoffrey White on fiddle; Joe Kwon on cello; Charlie Lowry on vocals; Wiley Buck on vocals and banjo; and Andy The Doorbum on vocals.

The new CD features twelve original songs. Most of the songs were written by the core group. Additional songwriters include Curtis Collins, Eric Anderson, and Bill Noonan. Once again, listeners will find great eclectic songwriting with tunes rooted in American history ("Alexander Hamilton"), exploring relationships ("All Out Of Diamonds") or just having fun ("Death Is So Romantic"), all driven by David Childers soothing baritone over a rootsy back-drop of instrumentation.

The songs were recorded by Douglas Williams at Electromagnetic Radiation Recorders in Winston-Salem, NC. It was produced by David Childers and Bob Crawford and mixed by Douglas Williams and Robert Childers.
Crawford, a long-time fan of Childers, comments: "David is the most prolific North Carolina songwriter alive. Everywhere I go people ask about him. It is great to see people constantly discovering this man and his massive body of work."

Overmountain Men CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Overmountain Men T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article