Queen Live At Wembley 25th Anniversary Edition Coming in March

Eagle Rock have set a March 12th DVD (and digital video) release date for Queen Live at Wembley Stadium.

This new 25th Anniversary edition of Queen's 1986 concerts will be released as a 2-disc set that will include previously unreleased footage and brand new bonus features.

The video was captured during two sell-out concerts at Wembley stadium on Friday, July 11th and Saturday, July 12th 1986 which was part of the band's final tour with Freddie Mercury before his untimely death.

"The Wembley concerts in 1986 were the pinnacle for us" says Brian May. "We were at our height band-wise, and Freddie had developed this phenomenal way of dealing with stadium audiences. Being back home in London playing two sell-out nights was such a big, big occasion for us. None of us realized that this would be almost the last time we played together…"

The new anniversary DVD features both full concerts and the DVD footage has been restored and the sound remastered with a brand new stereo mix and 5.1 sound.

Extras on the DVD include 'The Magic Tour', a short feature containing brand new interviews with Brian May and Roger Taylor filmed in 2011. They reflect back on what was to be their final tour with their familiar intelligence, honesty and brilliant wit and humor. They explain in depth how they would approach planning their concerts and they also reflect on the poignancy of the shows which were to become among the last few performances with Freddie.

"Wembley Stadium was such a special place," says Roger. "Having played it as part of Live Aid and to come back and play it again was such a blast."

"I don't think anyone expected the Magic tour to be the band's last dates; things had gone so well and we were already planning the next one," says Gerry Stickells, Queen's tour manager. "There was no sense of anything coming to an end".

But as things turned out, Queen only ever played 2 further UK concerts, in Manchester on July 16 and that final concert at Knebworth on August 9.

Queen Live At Wembley 25th Anniversary Edition Content
Disc One
Live At Wembley Stadium Saturday 12-07-1986

1. One Vision
2. Tie Your Mother Down
3. In The Lap Of The Gods ... Revisited
4. Seven Seas Of Rhye
5. Tear It Up
6. A Kind Of Magic
7. Under Pressure
8. Another One Bites The Dust
9. Who Wants To Live Forever
10. I Want To Break Free
11. Impromptu
12. Brighton Rock Solo
13. Now I'm Here
14. Love Of My Life
15. Is This The World We Created
16. (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
17. Hello Mary Lou (Goodbye Heart)
18. Tutti Frutti
19. Gimme Some Lovin' *
20. Bohemian Rhapsody
21. Hammer To Fall
22. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
23. Big Spender *
24. Radio Ga Ga
25. We Will Rock You
26. Friends Will Be Friends
27. We Are The Champions
28. God Save The Queen

* Saturday 12 July 1986 concert only

Disc Two

Live At Wembley Stadium Friday 11-07-1986

Bonus Features:
• The Magic Tour - approx 12min feature containing new interview filmed with Brian and Roger in 2011.
• The Wembley Weekend - approx 25min feature where Brian and Roger describe what went into these legendary concerts filmed in 2003
• Rehearsal - Secretly filmed footage from the bands rehearsal for the Magic Tour.

Queen CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Queen T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article




Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2021 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.