Wilko Johnson, Band Of Friends and Ian Siegal Win Blues Awards

(The Blues) Wilko Johnson, Band Of Friends and Ian Siegal are among the winners at this year's European Blues Awards. The list of recipients was revealed during the Carlisle International Blues Festival over the weekend, with presentations to be made in the coming days.

Terminal cancer victim Johnson was given a gong in recognition of his lifetime contribution to European blues. Band Of Friends, created by former Rory Gallagher bandmates Gerry McAvoy and Ted McKenna, were named best band.

Siegal won the best vocalist award while Virgil McMahon was named best guitarist. Several of the award-winning acts will appear at the inaugural HRH Blues Festival in Wales next March, sponsored by The Blues Magazine. See the winners list.

The Blues Magazine is an official news provider for antiMusic.com.
Copyright The Blues Magazine - Excerpted here with permission.

Wilko Johnson CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Wilko Johnson T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.