Hawkwind Releasing 11-Disc Box Set Of Their Formative Years

. (Classic Rock) Hawkwind have confirmed plans to release an 11-disc box set covering their formative years. Due later this month, "This Is Your Captain Speaking… Your Captain Is Dead" contains their first five studio albums, two live albums and a compilation of singles.

Parlophone Records say: "On January 28, 1970, Hawkwind - Dave Brock, Mick Slattery, Nik Turner, Terry Ollis, Dik Mik, and John A. Harrison - signed to Liberty Records. Slattery left soon after, to be replaced by Huw Lloyd-Langton, and the banded record their first, self-titled, album at Trident Studios in London.

"The period from 1970 to 1974 proved to be a busy time, seeing several lineup changes, the rise to prominence of a certain Ian 'Lemmy' Kilmister, the ingenious Space Ritual Tour - and a peculiar ban from BBC recording sessions. This box set celebrates that period."

Check out the details and artwork here.

Classic Rock Magazine is an official news provider for antiMusic.com.
Copyright Classic Rock Magazine- Excerpted here with permission.

Hawkwind Music, DVDs, Books and more

Hawkwind T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.