Deftones New Album Coming In April Says Guitarist

(TeamRock Radio) Deftones guitarist Stephen Carpenter says the band's eighth record is due out on April 8. The follow-up to 2012's Koi No Yokan was expected on September 25 - but the release was pushed back until November.

That date was once again scrapped because the as-yet-untitled record was still in production. Carpenter tells ESP Guitars: "We're sitting around, waiting for the release of our new record.

"It comes out April 8, we have some dates in Texas in march. In May and June, we're off to Europe for some festivals. We'll go play it for all the people that are interested and want to hear it."

Frontman Chino Moreno previously admitted that the album is "a little screwy" when compared to their previous material. Moreno told Rolling Stone: "It's a little more of a heady record. We've gone into the songs and really dissected them.

"If something sounded a little straight we took a left turn. We tried something completely opposite - not to sabotage it, but to challenge ourselves and try new things.

"It definitely feels like we've taken a step from our last record. But it's definitely a Deftones record - it has all the elements that make us who we are." Watch the video interview here.

TeamRock Radio is an official news provider for antiMusic.com.
Copyright TeamRock Radio - Excerpted here with permission.

Deftones Music, DVDs, Books and more

Deftones T-shirts and Posters

More Deftones News

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Related Stories

Deftones Reveal 'Ceremony' Video

Singled Out: Gears' Bored (Deftones Cover)

Deftones Raise Over $100K With Adopt-A-Dot

Deftones Release Change (In The House Of Flies) Tourist Remix Video

Deftones Share Robert Smith Remix Of 'Teenager'

Gears Tribute Deftones With Cover Of 'Bored'

Deftones Share Track From 'Black Stallion'

Deftones Ask Fans To Adopt A Dot For Charity

Deftones Release 'Genesis' Video

Deftones Release Video For Title Track To New Album 'Ohms'