New Official Doors Lineup Includes Astbury and Copeland.

09-12-02 antiGUY
It's official; Ian Astbury of the Cult and Stewart Copeland are now official members of the Doors along with original members Ray Manzarek and Robby Kreigar. 

Ray Manzarek has been making the rounds gabbing with the music press including reporters from Billboard and Yahoo’s Launch media, announcing that, “This is the permanent new Doors lineup”. 

Both Astbury and Copeland performed with the newly reformed Doors last weekend at the Harley Davison Open Road Festival in southern California. The original plans for the group’s new studio record was to have several guest musicians appear like STP’s Scott Weiland and Creed’s Scott Stapp but it now looks like Ian has the job as vocalist on a permanent basis. 

The band is also adding a bass player, something new for the group who never featured a bassist before. Angelo Barbera has been tapped to play bass on the new record the group will begin recording soon.  

The new studio album and a major supporting tour are expected next year. 

more on The Doors