Singled Out: Swindy's Reflection

Arizona Pop rockers Swindy just released a brand new video for their single "Reflection" from their self-titled debut EP and to celebrate we asked Randall Swindell to tell us about the song. Here is the story:

"Reflection" is a song that I wrote while processing my emotions during the break up of a previous relationship and throughout the aftermath. The lyrics describe the struggle I experienced while knowing I needed to leave this relationship, and understanding that in order to save my life, and not give up on my self, I had to separate and move on from this person. (paused) Yet for a period of time, I kept wanting to go back. I kept struggling with an idea I had in my head about the perfect relationship when the reality was actually a horror story. I am a loyal partner and friend. And it's not easy for me to sever relationships. This song is reflecting back on what once was and seeing it for what it became. Writing and recording this song helped me to process my emotions and become independent again.

I sat on this song for about two years, and it wasn't until a friend of mine (Jonathan Russell), who is a fellow musician and singer in a number of bands that I know. Introduced me to Producer Matt Good. That I pulled this song out of my musical diary and shared it with Jonathan. We were searching for tracks to present to Matt Good and I showed him about a half a dozen songs, and we listened to them, and we liked one or two of them, and we were thinking of having Jonathan guest appear in a song with me, the first song that we would record with Matt Good.

"Reflection" was kind of one of those oh… I also have this one track, but… It's probably something you're not interested in… and I played it for him. The original recording that I made on my laptop is quite a bit different from the version we cranked out at Matt Goods studio, but John recognized the potential right away. Immediately he vibed with it, and he said… "This is the one" this is the track we are going to do with Matt Good, I was very surprised that John wanted this sappy sad song I had written. It was kind of mellow, slow, reflective, and sad. But John screamed the background lyrics I had written, and brought a certain kind of life to it I had not thought of.

I then recruited a couple of my band members from Ensphere to track bass and guitar while we were recording with Matt Good. Matt analyzed some of the guitar lines, helped us hone in exactly the right chords for the chorus, and steered me in the right direction with vocal harmonies. We certainly felt that we were able to capture John beautifully for the guest appearance.

The song was recorded and mastered all in one session with John Russell, Michael Ludovici, Randall Swindell, and Serena Rose. Thanks to Matt Good, Ryan Daminson, Zach Yoshioka and Good Sound Studios.

Hearing is believing. Now that you know the story behind the song, listen for yourself and watch the video right here!


Related Stories
  • Singled Out: Swindy's Reflection
  • More Stories for Swindy
  • Swindy Music
  • News Reports
  • Day in Rock: Richie Sambora On Possible Bon Jovi Reunion At Rock Hall Induction- Linkin Park Release Live Sharp Edges Video- The Doors Final Concert Ever Filmed Being Released-more
  • Page Too: Ariana Grande Confirms Work On A New Album- Luke Bryan Plays New York Hospital For The Holidays- Sam Smith Performs 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas'- more
  • 2018 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced- Slipknot's Corey Taylor Announces Live Acoustic Release- Controversial Unedited Morrissey Interview Released-more
  • Rock News Stories
  • Foo Fighters Featured In New 'SNL' Promo Video
  • Dire Straits Rock Hall Reunion Up In The Air
  • Dickey Betts Returning To The Road Next Year
  • The Shins Change Things Up With 'The Worm's Heart' Album
  • Depeche Mode, Gorillaz, The Killers Lead Lollapalooza Paris Lineup
  • Richie Sambora On Possible Bon Jovi Reunion At Rock Hall Induction
  • Linkin Park Release Live Sharp Edges Video
  • The Doors Final Concert Ever Filmed Being Released
  • Whitesnake Stream 'Fool For Your Loving' From New Live Package
  • The National Release Abstract 'Sleep Well Beast' Video
  • Page Too News Stories
  • Best Songs on Eminem's New Album 'Revival'
  • Jake Owen Shows Off His Rap Battle Skills
  • Cole Swindell Unplugs For 'Beer in the Headlights'
  • Chris Brown Releases '12 Days Of Christmas' Expansion
  • Jeezy and Tory Lanez Perform 'Like Them' On The Late Show
  • Ariana Grande Confirms Work On A New Album
  • Luke Bryan Plays New York Hospital For The Holidays
  • Sam Smith Performs 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas'
  • Camila Cabello And Grey Stream New Song 'Crown'
  • Cardi B Gives Fiance Offset Rolls Royce For His 26th Birthday
  • Reviews
  • All Recent Reviews and Interviews
  • Dave Koz And Friends Bring Christmas Show To Arizona's Mesa Arts Center
  • Black Sabbath - The End (5 Stars)
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Travel Edition
  • Santa's Jukebox: Balsam Range, Sha Na Na and Jennifer Saran
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Jethro Tull - Songs from the Wood: The Country Set
  • Holiday Gift Guide: Queen - News of the World: 40th Anniversary Edition
  • Holiday Gift Guide: George Michael - Listen Without Prejudice Vol. 1/MTV Unplugged
  • Rock Reads: Beer Drinkers and Hell Raisers: The Rise of Motorhead
  • Rock Reads: Holiday Gift Guide Edition

  • Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

    Copyright© 1998 - 2016 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.