Jack White Produces New Wanda Jackson Album

Jack White was behind the nobs for The First Lady Of Rockabilly's new album, The Party Ain't Over.

Third Man and Nonesuch Records will release of the Jack White produced new album from Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Wanda Jackson on January 25, 2011.

With a remarkable career that began in 1955, Jackson, credited with being the first woman to ever record a rock and roll song - "Let's Have a Party" in 1958 was convinced by her friend Elvis Presley to cross over from country to rock and rockabilly music. Now known around the globe as "The Queen Of Rock" and "The First Lady Of Rockabilly," Jackson will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2010 Americana Music Awards in Nashville tonight, September 9th. The award in the category of Performance will be presented to her by Jack White.

That these two musical luminaries would find one another is hardly surprising. Jackson is an icon to everyone who knows and loves the roots of rock and roll. White, some 30+ years her junior, is one of music's most enigmatic visionaries. The two teamed up last year to record a 45rpm single for White's Third Man Records. The vinyl and iTunes release, a cover of Amy Winehouse's "You Know I'm No Good" b/w "Shakin All Over" was a big success and the pair hatched a plan to record a full-length album.

The Party Ain't Over was recorded in Nashville at White's studio, where he brought together a formidable band, including himself, Jack Lawrence (The Dead Weather/Raconteurs), Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket), Patrick Keeler (Raconteurs), Ashley Monroe, Jackson Smith and Karen Elson, to name a few, and hand picked the songs 11 tracks dating in origin from the early 1900's to 2007. The result: a retro modern collection of music that showcases Wanda, now in her seventh decade and sounding as wickedly charismatic as ever.

The Party Ain't Over Tracklist
1. Shakin All Over
2. Rip It Up
3. Busted
4. Rum and Coca-Cola
5. Thunder on the Mountain
6. You Know I'm No Good
7. Like A Baby
8. Nervous Breakdown
9. Dust on the Bible
10. Teach Me Tonight
11. Blue Yodle #6

Preview and Purchase Wanda Jackson CDs

Wanda Jackson MP3 Downloads