Quick Hits! by antiGUY and friends.

Mindless Self Indulgence - Frankenstein Girls Will Seem Strangely Sexy 

  • Elektra 

  • This album is like a chemistry experiment that went haywire. Mix a bunch of elements together that you shouldn't and it blows up in your face.  That's why this works. It's a mix of high-energy post hip-hop, industrial, electronica and punk with the lyrical equivalent of the Jerky Boys. Most pure rock fans won' t get it, they are too set in their ways. If you can open up your mind and experience this music, it's like nothing you ever heard before. Frankenstein Girls is a fun filled romp with foul language, sex and "oh, not even serious lyrics".  If you want some nasty entertainment and aren't listening for grunge filled power chords, MSI is just what the doctor ordered. 

    MSI makes their contemporaries like The Bloodhound Gang seem like lightweights with 30 tracks of pure musical excess dripping with sarcasm and sexual innuendo. You know - all the good stuff! 

    Say what? Yo, Frankenstein Girls is an exciting pastime for the entire family.  Play it for grandma, it's sure to send her weak heart into spasms. We know you love granny, but think of the inheritance!

     The listener must be warned, if you are politically correct, anal retentive, or just simply a humorless s*** head, DO NOT LISTEN! If on the other hand, you are looking for the musical equivalent of the Jerky Boys meets James Brown jamming with the Sex Pistols and Eminem, Mindless Self Indulgence will help you to waste hours of quality time in humorous bliss! 

    - Freak 

    P.S. Look for a full blown special on this group from yours truly! Stay Freaky! 

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    3 Doors Down - Better Life

  • Universal Records

  • Rock returns! If you haven't been living under a rock for the past month then you are sure to have heard, "Kryptonite", the hit single from 3 Doors Down.  There is a reason this song is played 24/7 on rock and alternative radio - it ROCKS!  We are pleased to let you know that the rest of the CD is equally as good. The new rock classics like "Loser", "Be Like That", "Not Enough", "Smack" and the title track, make this the must have album of the year for rock and modern rock enthusiast. You may not have a better life as a result of buying the album, but you will have better music! 

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    Britney Spears - Oops!...I Did It Again

  • Jive

  • Oops!...I Did It Again, she sure did. In what is basically a rehashing of her debut, "Baby One More Time", this teen vixen reached no new ground and still can't be taken all that seriously. I guess I am just too old to appreciate this stuff. It's either that or I have been around long enough to tell the serious music personalities from the shallow ones. 

    From the title track to the horrible remake of the Rolling Stones classic, "Satisfaction", it's hard to take Ms. Spears seriously. Britney may grow up and become a real contender, but it won't be with this album. 

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    Bad Religion - New America

  • Atlantic

  • Bad Religion returns with a bit more melodic infused post punk sound. No these guys didn't sell out, it's still Bad Religion. They just expanded their sound a tiny little bit from their last release, "No Substance". If you liked "Shades of Truth" and "All Fantastic Images" from the last album, you will feel right at home with New America.

    The song "A Long Way to the Promised Land" is a sure crossover hit as well as "New America", "Let it Burn", and "A World Without Melody". The overall sound is classic Bad Religion with a bit of the popish sound of latter day Redd Kross thrown in the mix.  13 solid tracks make up "New America", there is not a clunker in the bunch. So forget those pretenders Blink-182 and get the real deal! 

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    Departure Lounge - Out of Here.

  • Flydaddy Records

  • This band is interesting in it's heavy 60's pop influence. That influence shines loud and clear on the album. Drawing more from bands like the Animals and The Byrds than the Fab Four, Departure Lounge creates a modern rock classic with their U.S. debut. Fans of the Smashing Pumpkins, and the softer side of Bush or Beck should feel right at home with this band as well. The tracks that stand out the most are the emotional ballad, "Stay on The Line" and the psychedelic remake of the Tracey Ullman hit "They Don't Know". 

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    Primal Scream: XTRMNTR


  • Primal Scream is an interesting band that  creates heavy pop mixed with metal, alternative, with a bit of punk and a large dose of industrial. The closest comparison to another band would be Nine Inch Nails. From the eccentric album opener, "Kill all Hippies" to tracks like" Exterminator", "Swastika Eyes", and "MBV Arkestra (If They Move Kill 'Em)" , all make this album a compelling purchase. The lyrical content alone with its strange political manifesto's to its social commentary may excite the imagination of some listeners.  Others may  just dig the sounds, man. Never the less, XTRMNTR is one of the most interesting new releases of 2000.

    Listen to samples or purchase this title online

    tell a friend about this article


    Day In Rock Reports

    Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

    Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

    Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

    Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.