Pantera To Unleash �Vulgar Hits�, Phil Admits �Falling Out� With Ex-bandmates.

07-30-03 antiGUY
Pantera may have parted ways but the fans will get at least one more dose of the band�s patented Great Southern Trendkill on September 23rd when Elektra/Rhino records unleashes "The Best of Pantera: Far Beyond the Great Southern Cowboys' Vulgar Hits!"  

Fans will not only get 16 pounding Pantera tunes but also a bonus DVD featuring 12 videos and 2 live performances. Apart from the album cuts �Vulgar Hits� will include covers of Ted Nugent�s �Cat Scratch Fever� and Black Sabbath�s �Hole In The Sky�. 

In related news, Pantera frontman Phil Anselmo revealed to Revolver Magazine that he is no longer speaking with his former bandmate, Dimebag. 

Blabbermouth ran the following excerpts from the interview: 

�They�re doing it [already],� Anselmo told the magazine, referring to Darrel and PANTERA drummer Vinnie Paul�s new project, provisionally called NEW FOUND POWER. �They�re gonna name it something else [other than PANTERA], but they�re doing it, and best of luck to them. I have no bad feelings toward those guys at all.�

Asked if he thinks the other guys harbor any resentment toward him, Anselmo replied, �Sure. Absolutely. They won�t talk to me. I speak to Vinnie maybe once every blue moon. But I think Dimebag and I have had a falling out that�s going to be a little tough to reconcile. I�m not even sure what the hell it�s about.�

When questioned if the disagreement between him and Dimebag is of a musical or personal nature, Philip said, �Both. He�s got a lot of resentment in his heart, and I don�t really know where it�s coming from.  I�m not sure he�s mad at me at all, you know? He�s got a lot of personal issues in his life that he has to face, and once he does, I really, truly hope he becomes a better person � the beautiful person that I came to know and love.�

With regards to whether doing another PANTERA record is where his head is at right now, Anselmo said, �No, it�s not. It�s not the right time.  One thing you�ve gotta understand is, with PANTERA I�ve always been the one to question things. I�ve always been the one to say, �Are you sure you wanna do this?� �Are you sure this is right?� And they listen to me, they hear me out. And by no means am I saying that I�m the brains behind the entire thing. But I am saying that when it comes to music, due to my knowledge and very natural connection to what the underground scene is, I had to enlighten them several times over.  Without me, it�ll be real interesting to hear what they come up with.�

Asked if he is interested in hearing the final product once it�s completed, Philip said, �I�ll listen to it when it comes out. And sure, it�s gonna sound like PANTERA in a bunch of spots musically. And I�m also sure they�ve got a singer who � if it�s Dimebag Darrell�s dream � is gonna be a cross between Philip Anselmo and a guy who can hit, like, Rob Halford-style extreme high notes and s***. That�s just a wild guess. But as for me being interested in it, what I�m really interested in is SUPERJOINT RITUAL. That�s what interests me right now.�

The complete track listing for "The Best of Pantera" is as follows: 

01. Cowboys From Hell
02. Cemetary Gates
03. Mouth for War
04. Walk
05. This Love
06. I'm Broken
07. Becoming
08. 5 Minutes Alone
09. Planet Caravan
10. Drag the Waters
11. Where You Came From (Live)
12. Cat Scratch Fever
13. Revolution Is My Name
14. I'll Cast a Shadow
15. Goddamn Electric
16. Hole in the Sky

Bonus DVD:

01. Cowboys From Hell
02. Psycho Holiday
03. Cemetary Gates
04. Mouth For War
05. This Love
06. Walk
07. 5 Minutes Alone
08. I'm Broken
09. Drag the Waters
10. Domination (Live)
11. Primal Concrete Sledge (Live)
12. Revolution Is My Name

more on Pantera

Preview and purchase music from Pantera .