Heaven 17 Return

(press release) The godfathers of Dance Pop, Heaven 17, are back with a brand new album of UK synthfunk. "Before/After" will be released on Sept 6, 2005.

Going back to their DIY beginnings Heaven 17 got together with Angie Brown and Billie Godfrey and recorded several tracks over the course of 2001. The result of these studio sessions, their first studio album in 8 years, was completed on September 11 2001 the day the New York landscape and psyche was changed forever with the attack on the twin towers.

The name of the album, BeforeAfter, and the artwork refer to this brief moment in time that has had such a profound effect on so many people.

Lead Singer Glenn Gregory puts it succinctly: "An album made with no restrictions, no pressure, no time limits, no interference, no prying ears. Just us, in a studio doing what we enjoy doing best. Creating new Heaven 17 songs."

Heaven 17 was first formed in the early 1980s when the original line of the Human League fell apart. Martyn Ware and Ian Marsh hooked up with childhood friend Glenn Gregory and released their first classic single "(We don't need this) Fascist Groove Thang." UK hits like "Temptation" and " Come Live With Me" followed. The band also hit the US dance charts with hits like "Let Me Go" and "Contenders."

Now they are back with a fresh yet timeless sound.

Album Tracks:
1 I'm Gonna Make You Fall In Love With Me
2 Hands Up To Heaven
3 The Way It Is
4 Freedom From Love
5 Don't Fear The Reaper
6 Into The Blue
7 Deeper and Deeper
8 What Would It Take
9 Someone For Real

More News for Heaven 17

Preview and Purchase Heaven 17 music