Rare Clapton DVD

(Kayos) Eagle Rock Entertainment, the leading independent source for high quality music audio/visual programming, will release Legends Live at Montreux 1997, a live performance at Europe's most prestigious music festival from a supergroup featuring superstar guitarist Eric Clapton, saxophonist David Sanborn, bassist Marcus Miller, pianist-organist Joe Sample and drummer Steve Gadd. The DVD hit the streets on September 6.

Legends Live at Montreux is a rare opportunity to see one of the world's great guitarists freed from his responsibilities as a frontman. Here, Clapton is just one of the guys-although "guys" in this case happen to be the jazz/rock/blues elite. The combined r�sum� of each of the other four would take up far too much space to list here -- each has contributed to hundreds of landmark recordings.

For thirty years, Steve Gadd has been the drummer's drummer in the studio and on tour; he may be best known for his long association with Paul Simon. Sanborn is not only a studio hornsman nonpareil and prolific artist in his own right, but is known to millions through frequent appearances on David Letterman's Late Night and Late Show programs. Miller had already played with the likes of Chaka Khan and Grover Washington before becoming Miles Davis' chief collaborator on his 80s albums; since then, he's been recognized as an A-list jazz bassist and producer. Sample is a co-founder of the Jazz Crusaders (later simply the Crusaders) and a hard swinging, virtuosic keyboardist, whether playing acoustic or electric keyboards.

Legends finds this rare lineup, which toured European jazz festivals that year only, blowing through an accomplished but relaxed and largely instrumental set of jump blues, jazz standards, gentle acoustic reveries, funky rave-ups and, notably an elegant medley of the standard "In A Sentimental Mood" and Clapton's own "Layla." Clapton sings that tune, as well as "Going Down Slow" and "Every Day I Have The Blues," but again, for the most part, he was just one of the guys this one night in Montreux.
DVD Track Listing
1) "Full House"
2) "Groovin'"
3) "Ruthie"
4) "Snakes"
5) "Going Down Slow"
6) "The Peeper"
7) "In Case You Hadn't Noticed"
8) "Third Degree"
9) "First Song / Tango Blues"
10) "Put It Where You Want It"
11) "Shreveport Stomp"
12) "In A Sentimental Mood" / "Layla"
13) "Every Day I Have The Blues"

More News for Eric Clapton

Preview and Purchase Eric Clapton music