Rubber Soul Tribute

(Press Release) In honor of the 40th anniversary of the release of The Beatles' legendary album, Rubber Soul, Razor & Tie Entertainment is proud to announce This Bird Has Flown - A 40th Anniversary Tribute To The Beatles' Rubber Soul. The 14-track album hits stores on October 25th and will mirror the sequencing of the original UK release of Rubber Soul.

This Bird Has Flown features some of today's hottest artists including Sufjan Stevens, The Fiery Furnaces, Ben Harper, Dar Williams, Mindy Smith, The Donnas and many more. Of the importance of Rubber Soul, Allison Robertson of The Donnas commented, "They got a little more folky, they got a little more funky and more rocking.it was so different, it was like heavy and light at the same time."

The album is produced by Jim Sampas (producer of 2002's Badlands: A Tribute To Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska). On choosing the line-up of artists on the record, Sampas stated, "As we looked toward artists we would approach, we felt they should be kindred spirits, whose gifts for singing and arranging lend themselves to these melodies and themes. Each artist on this album brought their own fascinating interpretations and have extracted new meanings from Rubber Soul."

Originally released in the United Kingdom on December 6th,1965, the George Martin-produced Rubber Soul is considered to be an extraordinarily important album in The Beatles catalogue, the first flowering of the complex songwriting and production techniques of their later releases. The album features the now-ubiquitous songs "Nowhere Man", "Drive My Car'", "Michelle" and "In My Life" among others. It held the #1 position on the British album charts for eight weeks and remained on the chart for a total of forty-two weeks. In 1966, "Michelle" won John Lennon and Paul McCartney the Grammy for Song Of The Year. To date, Rubber Soul has been certified 6x platinum.

1. Drive My Car - The Donnas
2. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) - The Fiery Furnaces
3. You Won't See Me - Dar Williams
4. Nowhere Man - Low
5. Think For Yourself - Yonder Mountain String Band
6. The Word - Mindy Smith
7. Michelle - Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals
8. What Goes On - Sufjan Stevens
9. Girl - Rhett Miller
10. I'm Looking Through You - Ted Leo
11. In My Life - Ben Lee
12. Ben Kweller (featuring Albert Hammond Jr.) - Wait
13. If I Needed Someone - Nellie McKay
14. Run For Your Life - Cowboy Junkies

More News for Beatles

Preview and Purchase Beatles music