Cobra Starship Soph

(PR) dance-punk sensation Cobra Starship has disclosed details of their new album, entitled "íVIVA LA COBRA!" The album - which follows the band's 2006 debut, "WHILE THE CITY SLEEPS, WE RULE THE STREETS" - will arrive in stores on October 23rd. The sophomore release was recorded in Brooklyn, NY in July and was produced by Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump.

"íVIVA LA COBRA!" was written in its entirety while the band was on a North American tour with labelmates Fall Out Boy. About the writing experience, frontman Gabe Saporta says, "We were always bored on tour because we played these enormo-domes outside the city. There was nothing around for miles, so we started writing songs on our laptops." Patrick Stump, a long-time friend of Saporta's, saw the tour as the perfect opportunity to collaborate with the band.

"We weren't planning on releasing a new album so quickly," Saporta says, "but by the end of the tour we had almost 15 songs written." The band made arrangements to record as much as they could in the twenty days they had before leaving on their world tour, and in that time managed to complete the entire record.

Lyrically, the album is both poignant and sarcastic. This paradox stems from the band's existence on the cusp of celebrity over the past year; the irony of being on high-profile tours, but being the opening band who still has to come home and worry about paying their rent. "It hit me in a weird way one day when this girl asked me what it was like to be famous, and I'm like, 'What? I'm not famous!'" As fortunate as Saporta is to experience and observe the celebrity lifestyle from the inside, the humor of it all is never lost on him. Among the album's many telling and electric highlights are such party anthems as "Guilty Pleasure," "Kiss My Sass," and "Damn You Look Good And I'm Drunk (Scandalous)."

More News for Cobra Starship

Preview and Purchase Cobra Starship music



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.