The Heart is a Drum Machine

(PR) "The Heart is a Drum Machine," the music documentary from the producers of 2006's "Moog" feature, has wrapped production and added to an already impressive cast of musicians, music historians, critics and scientists including MTV's Kurt Loder, Tool's Maynard James Keenan, former New York Times music critic Neil Strauss, KCRW's Nic Harcourt and actor/musicians Elijah Wood, Jason Schwartzman and Juliette Lewis.

The film, directed by Christopher Pomerenke and produced by Ryan Page and Hans Fjellestad, explores music's role in shaping human history, the profound connection people have had to music throughout human history, how it has shaped our experiences and its involvement in our daily lives.

New additions to the cast include George Clinton, Red Hot Chili Peppers' John Frusciante, the aforementioned Kurt Loder of MTV fame, Carl Sagan's widow Ann Druyan, music supervisor Alexandra Patsavas (Grey's Anatomy, Mad Men) and Metalocalypse's Brendon Small amongst others (a complete list is below). Already confirmed participants include filmmaker Penelope Spheeris, Tool's enigmatic frontman Maynard James Keenan, Jimmy Tamborello of the ground-breaking Postal Service, Modest Mouse's Isaac Brock, DJ Z-Trip, music collector/actor/label owner Elijah Wood, Los Lobos, Jason Schwartzman, KCRW's Nic Harcourt, former New York Times music critic Neil Strauss, Spoon's Britt Daniel, The Silversun Pickups, Juliette Lewis, X's John Doe, Sleater-Kinney's Janet Weiss and many others.

"The Heart is a Drum Machine" will debut in early 2009 with further details to be announced later this year.


Jim Adkins
Mickey Avalon
Fairuza Balk
Steve Berlin
Ivar Bjornson
Wes Borland
Isaac Brock
George Clinton
Charlie Clouser
Britt Daniel
Kimya Dawson
John Doe
Ann Druyan
Harvey Fisher
Norwood Fisher
John Frusciante
Ben Goldwasser
Sybil Hall
Page Hamilton
Nic Harcourt
Tim Heidecker
Bob Hiltermann
Gene Hoglan
Victoria Jackson
C.J. Jones
Maynard James Keenan
Little Freddie King
Emily Kokal
Eddie Kramer
Juliette Lewis
Kurt Loder
Bob Ludwig
Zia McCabe
Billy Morrison
Alexandra Patsavas
Bijou Phillips
Phoenix Stone
Brian Reitzell
Jason Schwartzman
Silversun Pickups, The
Brendon Small
Matt Sorum
Penelope Spheeris
Sam Spiegel
Becky Stark
G.E. Stinson
Neil Strauss
Morton Subotnick
Jimmy Tamborello
Courtney Taylor-Taylor
Jason Trachetnburg
Rachel Trachtenburg
Andrew Van Wyngarden
Eric Wareheim
Reggie Watts
Janet Weiss
Heloise Williams
Elijah Wood
Benjamin Wright
Charlyne Yi

Christopher Pomerenke

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Tool CDs

Tool MP3 Downloads