And Now For Something Completely Different

(PR) Lili Haydn singer, songwriter and violinist extraordinaire returns March 25 with PLACE BETWEEN PLACES, her debut album for Nettwerk Music and third album overall.

Her words and melodies cover a wide musical territory, as rooted in modern rock and avant-pop as in her early studies of Brahms and Tchaikovsky. Highlights include the transcendent "Strawberry Street" (the album's hook-laden first single), the dreamy, modern noir of "I Give Up" and the stunning opening track "Memory One."

Haydn has played with, sung and opened for everyone from Jimmy Page and Robert Plant (soloing on Led Zeppelin's "Kashmir" before joining them again across the U.S. as the duo's opening act) to Sting, Josh Groban and Herbie Hancock (playing and singing one of her own songs as part of his jazz quintet last summer). And as a sometime member of Parliament- Funkadelic, leader George Clinton has often called her "the Jimi Hendrix of the violin." Haydn has her own Hendrix moment on the new album's bonus track--an epic take on P-Funk's "Maggot Brain," a rendition she's played to standing ovations at the Hollywood Bowl and elsewhere. Look for Lili Haydn to perform on February 1 at the Writer's Guild benefit at Busby's in Los Angeles and on April 2 at the Dodgers vs. San Francisco Giants baseball game at Dodger Stadium. A national support tour is in the works to follow this summer.

Throughout PLACE BETWEEN PLACES--produced by Haydn and Grammy-winning producer- engineer Thom Russo (Johnny Cash, Macy Gray, Audioslave)-she delivers sounds that are inventive and torrid, with compelling lyrics in search of peace and passion in an unsteady world. She shows a new sense of abandonment in her vocals to match the fire and grace of her virtuosic violin playing. "There's very little calculation, except how do I translate what is most precious to me?" says Haydn about her work. "It feels like these are urgent times. When you listen to the news or look around, everybody is under the gun. Who has time for bulls***?"

The soaring, postmodern pop of PLACE BETWEEN PLACES began life in her home studio amid the hills and trees above Los Angeles. "Lililand" is what she calls this room, where the walls are covered in red and purple velvet, and where the singer-songwriter-violinist spent the last two years working to capture her "most essential, most ecstatic moments" on record.

The complete track listing for PLACE BETWEEN PLACES is:
1. Memory One
2. Strawberry Street
3. Can't Give Everything
4. Saddest Sunset
5. Place Between Places
6. I Give Up
7. Satellites
8. Reverie
9. Children of Babylon
10. Unfolding Grace
11. The Last Serenade
12. Powers of Five
13. Maggot Brain (Bonus Track)

Preview and Purchase Lili Haydn CDs

Lili Haydn MP3 Downloads




Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.