Live Stuff

(Kayos) They were the most in-demand of all the session players. Guitarist Cornell Dupree, bassist Gordon Edwards, drummer Steve Gadd, guitarist Eric Gale and keyboardist Richard Tee probably played on most of the albums you bought in the 1970s and beyond. Yet when they convened as Stuff, an all-instrumental funk-jazz-pop-rock-soul machine, they had an inherent chemistry all their own. They could stop on a dime, wheel it around and churn off in another direction that was as dizzying and satisfying as it was thrilling and syncopated. Their only Montreux Jazz Festival appearance came in 1976 and they did not disappoint.

Eagle Rock Entertainment is proud to announce the release of Stuff's Live At Montreux 1976 on CD and DVD on July 15.

With material by composers such as Stevie Wonder, Dave Mason, Billy Preston, Steely Dan, Earth Wind & Fire, Edwin Hawkins, James Weldon Johnson and others, Stuff plays the tar out of these songs and the knowledgeable Montreux crowd erupts. It's a goosebump-raising performance.

The legendary vocalist Odetta contributes vocals to "Oh Happy Day." Bassist Edwards writes the liner notes. Singer/songwriter Chris Rea contributes an essay. "The purity of what's on this video," says Rea, "is the true history of modern music. It's as good as it ever got and ever will get."

Eric Clapton, who knows a little something about guitar, calls the Stuff groove, "one of the best groove zones ever, every player a genius."

Track Listing
1) Foots
2) Signed, Sealed, Delivered, I'm Yours
3) The Gadd Solo
4) Stuff's Stuff
5) That's The Way Of The World
6) Feelin' Alright
7) Life Every Voice And Sing/Oh Happy Day
8) Ode To Stuff
9) How Long Will It Last?
10) You Are So Beautiful
11) Boogie On Reggae Woman
12) Do It Again

Preview and Purchase Stuff CDs

Stuff MP3 Downloads