Lily Allen Goes Soph

(Capitol) On February 10th, 2009, Capitol Records will release It's Not Me, It's You, the follow-up to Lily Allen's critically acclaimed 2007 debut, Alright, Still. Recorded at Eagle Rock Studios in Los Angeles, the album finds Lily in top form, Allen wrote and recorded the album's 12 songs with producer Greg Kurstin (the bird and the bee), who worked with her on three songs for Alright, Still - "Everything's Just Wonderful," "Alfie" and "Not Big."

"We decided to try and make bigger sounding, more ethereal songs, real songs," says Lily, who will be touring the U.S. in the spring. "I wanted to work with one person from start to finish to make it one body of work. I wanted it to feel like it had some sort of integrity. I think I've grown up a bit as a person and I hope it reflects that."

On It's Not Me, It's You, Lily's characteristically sharp observations find expression in a variety of musical styles, with influences ranging from the Jazz Era to country and western to dance music.

After a release week performance on "Saturday Night Live," Alright, Still bowed at No. 20 on The Billboard 200 in February 2007. Certified Gold in the States, it has sold over 2.5 million copies worldwide. Allen, who was nominated for four Brit awards, a GRAMMY´┐Ż award and an MTV Video Music award, toured the U.S. numerous times and appeared on "The Tonight Show with Jay Leno," "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" and "TODAY." A succession of collaborations with artists including Robbie Williams, Mark Ronson, Common, Dizzee Rascal, Jamie T and the Kaiser Chiefs further enhanced Lily's reputation as an artist of unusual diversity.

The track listing for It's Not Me, It's You is as follows:

1. Everyone's At It
2. The Fear
3. It's Not Fair
4. 22
5. I Could Say
6. Go Back To the Start
7. Never Gonna Happen
8. ---- You
9. Who'd've Known
10. Chinese
11. Him
12. He Wasn't There

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Lily Allen CDs

Lily Allen MP3 Downloads