3 Doors Down, Muzik Mafia and Kid Rock Supergroup 7dayBinge Set Debut

(PR) 7dayBinge plans to release its debut, self-titled album via digital download portals on December 8, 2009, with hard copy release to follow on January 26, 2010. The group includes Todd Harrell of 3 Doors Down on bass, Jon Nicholson of the Muzik Mafia on guitar and vocals, Kenny Olson of Kid Rock's band on lead guitar, and Shannon Boone on drums.

"7dayBinge" will be released by Rock Ridge Music. The band plans to tour in support of the album; tour dates will be announced as they are confirmed. Says Rock Ridge Music CEO Tom Derr of signing 7dayBinge: "Heard the songs, loved the songs. Knew the band, signed band. It should always be that direct."

"I'm really excited about the Binge album coming out," says Harrell. "It's been a lot of fun working with these guys and watching it all come together. The energy is awesome and I can't wait for our fans to hear it. They won't be disappointed."

A side project by artists who just wanted to make some music together and not get bogged down in the business side of things ("It's always been the mentality with the Binge, just get together and make great music," says Nicholson), the band came together when Nicholson opened for 3 Doors Down on a European tour. Stops in Amsterdam (during which an actual seven-day binge of some sort may have occurred) found Harrell and Nicholson sitting down and working on some music together (the result of the initial session, the track "Cold Dark Grave," worked so well that they kept writing together). Says Harrell: "Nicholson and I wrote these songs in Amsterdam a couple of years ago and have been messing around with them for a while now. Then, Kenny and Shannon came along, and it rocked!"

Before Olson and Boone joined the line-up for a show in Nashville, Nicholson and Harrell played some of the material out in Biloxi, Mississippi, with Brad Arnold (3 Doors Down) on drums and Shannon Lawson of the Muzik Mafia on guitar. The gig was such a rousing success that Harrell and Nicholson buckled down and did even more writing together. Boone was thrilled to join the rock outfit when they rounded out the line-up. "The Binge is such a great band of be a part of," says Boone. "The combination of musical talent and personalities makes everything exciting. Can't wait for people to hear the record."

Recorded over several days at the Sound Kitchen in Nashville and produced by the band themselves, "7dayBinge" features eight driving, straight-up rock 'n' roll tracks (see full track listing below). Originally, the band worked up seven songs for the album, but a rush of creativity and inspiration late in the recording process led to an eighth track, "Good Times," which clocks in at 10:35 long.

7dayBinge Track Listing:

1. 7dayBinge
2. Oak Tree
3. End of the Road
4. Free
5. I'm No Good
6. Coming Back Again
7. Cold Dark Grave
8. Good Times

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase 7dayBinge CDs

7dayBinge MP3 Downloads