Lana Mir Set To Debut in August

Lana Mir will be releasing her self-titled debut album on August 24th via Unfiltered Records (The Postmarks, Ivy). The album is a collection of songs that wholly reflects Lana's unconventional journey.

Recorded at Stratosphere Sound in New York City and produced by Andy Chase (Ivy, Brookville) and Bruce Driscoll (Blondefire), the album is a promising beginning for the enchanting chanteuse.

Growing up in Kiev, Lana's creative options were limited, albeit her love of music was insatiable. Over time, Lana became exposed to western musicians such as Björk, Air, Marianne Faithful, Joni Mitchell and Portishead via friends who were travelling in Europe and America. Discouraged with the artificialness of the Ukrainian recording industry, where she was quickly becoming popular, Lana swiftly left home and headed for New York where the gentle and earnest songwriting she penned would have a proper home.

Lana got her chance when producer Andy Chase fell under her spell upon hearing a few songs she recorded in a home studio. A year later, the LP was complete. Lana Mir is bursting with airy pop songs such as "Tears Are Not Enough," while the Tracey Thorn-esque "Return" takes its cues from Lana's appreciation of jazz. Lana's passion for Brazilian music from artist's such as Astrud Gilberto and Antonio Carlos Jobim, and her years of experience playing the jazz circuit in New York shines beautifully on the bossa nova-tinged, "Goodbye Girl." On songs like "Summertime" and "Say You Need Me," Lana's sultry voice and subdued sensuality combined with Chase's warm, gauzy production creates a fitting home for Lana's organic blend of contemporary and vintage 60s-style pop – much like Serge Gainsbourg achieved in the songs of Françoise Hardy. Lana pours herself into the hushed minimalism of "These Days" and her wistful voice floats on the shimmering "We Started Something."

The album's songs flow with unassuming emotion. Lana Mir is an album both worldly and timeless, establishing her as an undeniably gorgeous new voice to American ears.

Venus Magazine premiered the video for a new album track ""Summertime", which Lana shot in New York's Central Park.
You can view the video here.

Lana Mir tracklisting:

1. Say You Need Me
2. Beautiful Day
3. To Be Wrong
4. Summertime
5. I Wanna Be Adored
6. Tears are Not Enough
7. These Days
8. We Started Something
9. Believe in Me
10. Goodbye Girl
11. Return

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase Lana Mir CDs

Lana Mir MP3 Downloads