Black Sabbath, Monster Magnet, Alice Cooper and Gov't Mule Supergroup To Debut

9 Chambers, the new group featuring Greg Hampton (Alice Cooper, Bootsy Collins, Lita Ford, and on recently unearthed Tommy Bolin recordings), former Monster Magnet guitarist Ed Mundell, Jorgen Carlsson (Gov't Mule) and Vinny Appice (Black Sabbath/Dio/Heaven & Hell), will release their self-titled debut album on September 27th.

The first single, 'Know Your Enemy', was inspired from the old adage "Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer". Hampton says, "It's about when you hear people say one thing and mean another � they twist the truth, but they're not totally lying. It's the wolf in sheep's clothing, a bit of an L.A. thing."

Mundell played guitar on such Monster Magnet classics as 1993's 'Superjudge,' 1995's 'Dopes to Infinity,' and 1998's gold-certified 'Powertrip.' But by late 2010, Mundell had had enough. "It was 18 years with Magnet, it wasn't treading on any new territory." During a well-deserved break, Mundell crossed paths with veteran guitarist Hampton and began to jam the classic rock n' roll way, naturally. Soon 9 CHAMBERS was born.

"I'd play a verse," Hampton says of their musical connection, "then hand Ed the guitar and he'd play the rest of it." And as Mundell adds, "All of a sudden, it's 20 songs later!"

Fall 2011 touring dates for 9 Chambers to be announced soon

9 Chambers T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article