Sabbath, Purple, Metallica, Maiden Supergroup Who Cares Release Video

We received the official word about the Who Cares project release, including the full star-studded lineup featuring members of Iron Maiden, Metallica, Deep Purple and more, plus some comments from masterminds Tony Iommi and Ian Gillan and a new music video!

Who Cares, the renewed musical union between legendary Deep Purple singer Ian Gillan and Black Sabbath's Tony Iommi, will release its debut digital single will be release May 6th via Eagle Rock Entertainment. The physical cd/dvd single will be made available in Europe on May 24 through earMUSIC and June 27th in North America via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

The single features two brand new studio tracks "Out Of My Mind" and "Holy Water", which will raise funds for the rebuilding of a music school in Gyumri, Armenia. The 2 Song - CD single will also contain the video clip of "Out Of My Mind" and a 40-minute documentary that shows Gillan's and Iommi's involvement with the Armenia cause over the years.

Speaking to Armenia's Mediamax news agency, Gillan was asked what the experience of working with Iommi again was like compared to their previous collaboration. "It was great to work with Tony again," Gillan replied. "He is very easy to write with and as a singer I know exactly where he's going. It wasn't dramatic, just friendly and professional."

He added, "We hope to do it again sometime in the not-too-distant future.

"It wasn't like the last experience with Black Sabbath; that was a band and an album � totally different."

When asked how the inspiration for the song "Out Of My Mind" came out right after he visiting Armenia in October 2009, Ian said, "Well, normally... people like us who work with bands write the bits that we play. In this case, with 'Out of My Mind', Tony presented the entire musical idea and I wrote what I sing over the top, or along with it, if you prefer. The second track of the Who Cares single, 'Holy Water', was a bit different as I wrote that with Steve Morse (Deep Purple) and Tony was gracious enough to play guitar on it."

Both Gillan and Iommi have spent a lot of time in Armenia, fallen in love with the country and the people and have dedicated a lot of work to a nation still shocked after the earthquake that struck Armenia on December 7, 1988.

The collaboration of Gillan and Iommi, who have worked together before on the Sabbath album "Born Again", is in itself an incredible news for all rock and metal fans and will be the best of surprises to get to know who is completing the band: None other than Jon Lord ("Mr. Hammond", partner with Gillan on all the Deep Purple classics), Iron Maiden drummer Nicko McBrain, ex-Metallica bassist Jason Newsted and HIM guitarist player Mikko "Linde" Lindstr�m are also featured on the two new songs.

Commented Gillan: "The idea came as Tony and I flew back from Yerevan together after being inspired by the enthusiasm of everyone there to get this thing done.

"It was brilliant working with Tony again after all these years; he makes life easy for a singer.

"The other guys need no introduction, do they?!"

Added Iommi: "Some twenty years ago when the call came, I thought, well at least I've helped, but it was going to Armenia and seeing the actual devastation caused by the earthquake that really made me realize that funds were still needed.

"Despite all the money that was raised last time, here was a music school doing their best, forgotten, in basic tin sheds. After the warmth and honor bestowed upon us during our visit, we just had to help make a difference and get the school rebuilt. And what better way than to hook up with some of rock's greatest players and my old mate Ian, both an honor and a pleasure."

"Out Of My Mind" recording lineup:

* Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) - Guitar
* Ian Gillan (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) - Vocals
* Jason Newsted (Metallica, Voivod, Flotsam And Jetsam) - Bass
* Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden) - Drums
* Jon Lord (Deep Purple) - Keyboards
* Mikko "Linde" Lindstr�m (HIM) - Guitar

"Holy Water" recording lineup:

* Ian Gillan (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) - Vocals
* Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) - Guitar
* Steve Morris - Guitar
* Michael Lee Jackson - Guitar
* Randy Clarke - Drums
* Rodney Appleby - Bass
* Jesse O'Brien - Hammond Organ
* Arshak Sahakyan - Duduk Solo
* Ara Gevorgyan - Underlying Duduk Intro Music And Keys

Check out the video for "Out of My Mind" here

Preview and Purchase Who Cares CDs

Who Cares MP3 Downloads