Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby Reuniting For Album and Tour

Ricky Skaggs and Bruce Hornsby will be teaming up once again to hit the road together this fall and they will be releasing a new live album later this summer, which comes from their last tour together.

Skaggs Family Records have set an August 20, 2013 release date for the new live album, "Cluck Ol' Hen," which was captured during the duos tour together six years ago in support of their first collaborative album, Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby.

"We recorded quite a few of the live performances from our tour and came up with a really great CD," says Skaggs. "It's a great merging of two different styles. Listening to this live CD just reminded me of how much fun we had touring together. Every show was a gift."

Hornsby notes, "I've been fortunate to be a part of scores of collaborations through the years. Along with my time with the Grateful Dead, and the various Spike Lee projects, I consider the long-time association with Ricky to be the deepest and most satisfying collaboration of them all. Hopefully this record captures the sound of a bunch of guys having a great time playing music together. That's what it sounds like to me."

On collaborating with Hornsby, Skaggs notes, "Working with Bruce Hornsby is a show in itself. He's one of the best musicians I've ever played with. His talent level is very high and his take on Bluegrass music is very much like Jazz. It's all just free form and fun."

"I have great respect for the traditions that Ricky Skaggs represents and lives in his music and his life," says Hornsby of Skaggs. "When I come into his world, I feel it's my job to enhance that tradition, and maybe add some new colors to the palette to paint with. I also feel it's my job to make him (and his band) laugh a little."

Skaggs and Hornsby will also hit the road this fall, embarking on the Ricky Skaggs & Bruce Hornsby with Kentucky Thunder Tour. Thirteen dates have been announced so far.

10/3 Carmel, IN The Palladium
10/4 Cincinnati, OH Taft Theatre
10/5 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium
10/18 Los Angeles, CA Royce Hall UCLA
10/19 Scottsdale, AZ Virginia G. Piper Theater
10/20 Tucson, AZ Fox Tucson Theatre
10/24 Broken Arrow, OK Broken Arrow Performing Center
10/25 Overland, KS Carlsen Center
10/26 Salina, KS Stiefel Theatre for the Performing Arts
11/1 Milwaukee, WI Potawatomi Bingo Casino
11/2 Burnsville, MN Burnsville PAC
11/20 Huntington, NY The Paramount
11/21 Morristown, NJ Mayo Performing Arts Center

Cluck Ol' Hen Track Listing:

1. Intro: How Mountain Girls Can Love
2. How Mountain Girls Can Love
3. Intro: Toy Heart
4. Toy Heart
5. Intro: Bluegrass Breakdown
6. Bluegrass Breakdown
7. Intro: Darling Corey
8. Darling Corey
9. The Way It Is
10. Intro: The Dreaded Spoon
11. The Dreaded Spoon
12. Gulf Of Mexico Fishing Boat Blues
13. Intro: Sally Jo
14. Sally Jo
15. Little Maggie
16. Intro: Little Maggie
17. White Wheeled Limousine
18. Intro: Cluck Ol' Hen
19. Cluck Ol' Hen

Ricky Skaggs CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Ricky Skaggs T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article