New Tributes to Steve Vai/ Satriani & Black Flag Coming. 

01-22-02 antiGUY

Two new tribute CD�s are on the way. First up, Versailles Records will release "Lords of Karma: A Tribute to Vai/Satriani", on January 29th. This is the second tribute release from Versailles who release "Fire Woman: A Tribute to the CULT" last year. This release features past and present members of KISS, Ozzy Osbourne, Aerosmith, Dokken, Night Ranger, Enuff Z�nuff, TNT and the Smashing Pumpkins paying tribute to the virtuoso guitar styling of Steve Vai and Joe Satriani. 

Also coming from Versailles on Jan 29th the debut album from Richard Kendrick who contributed songs to the Vai/Satriani and Cult tribute disc.  Versailles bills Kendrick�s debut "Murder & the F Word" as �a cross between Dream Theatre, White Snake, and Queensryche, wherein the material is 'a multi-layered mix of concept-driven hard rock and melodic but dizzying symphony.' �  

Track Listing for "Lords of Karma: A Tribute to Vai/Satriani":  Always with Me, Always with You- Bruce Kulick (Kiss, Grand Funk Railroad)
Surfing with the Alien- Jake E Lee (Ozzy Osbourne, Badlands)
Echo- Jimmy Crespo (Aerosmith, Rough Cutt, Billy Squier) and Dave Ragsdale (Kansas, Queensryche, Smashing Pumpkins) 
Summer Song- Brad Gillis (Night Ranger) 
Friends- Neil Zaza 
Yankee Rose- Enuff Znuff
Shy Boy- George Lynch (Lynch Mob, Dokken)
Toni Harnell (TNT), and Jason McMaster (Dangerous Toys, Watchtower)
The Attitude Song- Richard Kendrick
Tender Surrender- Toni Janflone Jr.
Tobacco Road- Corey Craven.  

To learn more, log on to www.versaillesrecords.com"

Punk legends Black Flag are also getting the tribute treatment through releases from Initial Records. The label has yet to nail down a release date on the full length CD but below is the latest information on the tribute tentatively titled �Black on Black�.   

��this highly anticipated tribute to Black Flag features a small, hand-picked group of some of the most important and promising bands in hardcore that we felt embodied the spirit, ethic and sound of Black Flag in current times. Originally intended to simply be a 7� featuring Old Man Gloom, American Nightmare, The Hope Conspiracy and The National Acrobat, we looked for another band to replace The National Acrobat after their breakup and the project quickly grew into a larger, yet still personal and concise, album. Look for these bands and songs to appear:
ANODYNE: Life Of Pain
BURNT BY THE SUN: Drinking And Driving
CONVERGE: Annihilate This Week
THE HOPE CONSPIRACY: Nervous Breakdown
PLANES MISTAKEN FOR STARS: Police Story, Gimme Gimme Gimme (12� only), Wasted (CD only)�

tell a friend about this article

know of a news item we should cover?

antiMUSIC News featured on RockNews.info NewsWire
Want more news visit RockNews.info for the latest rock news from across the web!