.

Raul Malo Hitting The Road As New CD Hits Stores This Week


03/02/2009
.
(PR) The long wait for fans of Raul Malo is about to end in a very big way. His highly anticipated new collection, titled Lucky One, produced by Los Lobos' Steve Berlin, has generated early acclaim from appreciative critics and fans alike in advance of its March 3rd release date. The album is Malo's Fantasy Records debut and first recording of new, original material in seven years. That's just the start.

Raul and his great band will hit the road running March 6th in Portland, Oregon, the beginning of an incredible co-headline bill with Shelby Lynne. Along the way he will perform March 11th on the "Tonight Show with Jay Leno" and play two major showcases at South by Southwest (SXSW), the annual music festival in Austin. On Thursday, March 19, he will perform at the Americana Music Association showcase at Antone's as part of an all-star lineup, and on Friday, March 20 he'll play an open-to-the-public show at Auditorium Shores on Austin's Town Lake, sharing a bill with the city's own Arc Angels.

Music critics have been quick to praise Lucky One. Entertainment Weekly states, "Malo is one of those rare singers who transcend the mundane with the sheer operatic sweep of his marvelous instrument. He's among the last of a breed: a country stylist with finesse and brawn in equal measure, turning his laments into bittersweet valentines." The Associated Press (AP) adds, "The lyrics refer to lots of crying and heartbreak, but Malo's soaring singing makes it impossible to suppress a smile. With "Lucky One," it's the listener who's lucky." The Miami New Times gushed, "Malo's singing style is as riveting as Orbison's and as seductive as Sinatra's, and the new album tows a line between re-establishing his own credence as a songwriter and reflecting his reverence for his heroes." And finally, Vintage Guitar stated: "Regardless of the mood, Malo's mellifluous tenor combines equal parts Sinatra, Jones and Orbison in one beautiful package. Every song here will give you goose bumps."

During Grammy week, Malo joined the Jonas Brothers, Jennifer Hudson, Coldplay, Foo Fighters, Faith Hill, Kid Rock, Chris Cornell and others to honor Neil Diamond at the annual gala to benefit the Recording Academy's charitable arm MusiCares. Malo performed Diamond's "Solitary Man," capturing the song's essence with his signature vocals and guitar.

Raul Malo tour dates: (dates with Lynne designated with *).

Tues., March 3 NASHVILLE, TN 12th & Porter, Billy Block Show, 10 p.m. set
Fri., March 6 PORTLAND, OR Aladdin Theatre*
Sat., March 7 SNOQUALMIE, WA Snoqualmie Casino Ballroom (with Jewel)
Sun., March 8 SEATTLE, WA Tractor Tavern*
Tue., March 10 SAN FRANCISCO, CA Great American Music Hall*
Wed., March 11 ANAHEIM, CA House of Blues*
Thur., March 12 LOS ANGELES, CA House of Blues*
Fri., March 13 ARROYO GRANDE, CA Clark Center Theatre*
Sat., March 14 SPARKS, NV John Ascuaga's Nugget Hotel & Casino
Mon., March 16 SAN DIEGO, CA Belly Up Tavern
Tues., March 17 TUCSON, AZ Rialto Theatre
Thurs., March 19 AUSTIN, TX (SXSW) Antone's
Fri., March 20 AUSTIN, TX (SXSW) Lady Bird Lake
Thurs., March 26 OMAHA, NE Slowdown
Fri., March 27 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Cabooze
Sat., March 28 MILWAUKEE, WI Shank Hall
Sun., March 29 CHICAGO, IL Martyrs'
Tues., March 31 CLEVELAND, OH Beachland Ballroom
Fri., April 3 PORT WASHINGTON, NY Landmark on Main Street
Sat., April 4 RIDGEFIELD, CT Ridgefield Playhouse
Sun., April 5 GLENSIDE, PA Keswick Theater
Mon., April 6 ANNAPOLIS, MD Ram's Head on Stage
Wed., April 8 ALEXANDRIA, VA Birchmere
Thurs., April 9 PITTSBURGH, PA Byham Theatre
Fri., April 10 NEW YORK, NY B.B. King's
Sat., April 11 FOXBOROUGH, MA Showcase Live
Fri., April 17 DETROIT, MI Magic Stick

* indicates co-headline dates with Shelby Lynne



Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Raul Malo CDs



Raul Malo MP3 Downloads



advertisement




Day In Rock Reports


Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.