Genesis Platinum Collection

(Press Release) On September 13th, Rhino Records will release the 3 CD career-spanning 'Genesis Platinum Collection' and 'Genesis Video Show' as well as a new album and a hits collection from the side project Mike + The Mechanics.

'Genesis Platinum Collection' is the first and only retrospective to cover both Peter Gabriel and Phil Collins eras. The four hours of music on three CDS is the most comprehensive collection to date featuring everything from earlier Gabriel-era favorites like "The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway" to Top 40 hits like "Hold On My Heart" and Billboard Top 10 chart smashes "Invisible Touch". "Follow You Follow Me" and "Counting Out Time" are a few of the 24 newly remixed tracks. A twenty page booklet with liner notes by Hugh Fielder accompany the discs.

Founded in the late '60s in Surrey, England, Genesis rose out of the ashes of earlier bands formed by schoolmates Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Michael Rutherford, and Anthony Phillips (who departed after 1969's Trespass, the album providing the final track on this stellar retrospective). Guitarist Steve Hackett soon signed on, as did drummer/vocalist Phil Collins, who'd later emerge (as would Gabriel) as a solo superstar. Following Gabriel's 1975 departure, Genesis grew from a progressive art-rock outfit into one of the biggest arena rock acts ever, with a long string of platinum-sellers and chart smashes.

Additionally, all of the Genesis promo videos will be released for the first time on DVD with 'Genesis Video Show'. The digitally remastered videos include MTV staples "Land of Confusion", "Invisible Touch", and "I Can't Dance" as well as the 1999 version of "Carpet Crawlers" featuring Gabriel. Rare BBC footage of "Paperlate" is also included.

Simultaneously, Genesis bassist/guitarist Rutherford reunites with Paul Carrack for the first Mike + The Mechanics album since 1999, 'Rewired'. 'Rewired' finds Mike + The Mechanics in top form with nine powerful new original songs including the driving electronic track "One Left Standing (Version A)," the sublime ballad "If I Were You," and the adventurous title track. Re-mastered versions of Top 10 singles "Silent Running" and "All I Need Is A Miracle" are two of the 13 favorite tracks on another new disc 'Hits'.

'Genesis Platinum Collection' Track Listing:
No Son Of Mine
I Can't Dance
Jesus He Knows Me
Hold On My Heart
Invisible Touch
Throwing It All Away
Tonight Tonight Tonight (Edit)
Land Of Confusion
In Too Deep
That's All
Home By The Sea
Second Home By The Sea I
llegal Alien *
Paperlate *
Calling All Stations

Abacab *
Keep It Dark *
Turn It On Again *
Behind The Lines Duchess *
Misunderstanding *
Many Too Many *
Follow You Follow Me *
Undertow *
In That Quiet Earth *
Afterglow *
Your Own Special Way
A Trick Of The Tail *
Ripples *
Los Endos *

The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway *
Counting Out Time *
Carpet Crawlers *
Firth Of Fifth *
The Cinema Show *
I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) *
Supper's Ready
The Musical Box *
The Knife *

*Newly Remixed By Nick Davis

More News for Genesis

Preview and Purchase Genesis music




Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2020 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.