Reunited Ra Releasing New Album

The original lineup of Ra have reunited and announced that they will be releasing their new fan-funded studio album, "Critical Mass", on October 15th and the band have released a stream of the first single.

The band launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund the album following the reunion of their original lineup, guitarist/vocalist Sahaj Ticotin, bassist P.J. Farley, guitarist Ben Carrol and drummer Skoota Warner.

Ticotin had the following to say about the album and the results of the Kickstarter campaign, "I believe this record to be the most complete album we've ever made, but also the heaviest," he said.

"There is a conscious effort here to be more respectful of hard rock/metal roots and less on being too touchy feely. I really wanted this record to feel intense, even on the more light hearted songs. For once I don't feel as if I compromised on any aspect of the writing for this record."

"The Kickstarter was a surprise on many levels. Not only in the amount of money we raised, but mainly in the intensity of the demand. People were genuinely aggressive about making sure we made another record.

"As cliché as it sounds, without that level of energy, I don't know how well this record would have come out. Their passion directly inspired the songs on this record from beginning to end. It is truly amazing."

Fans can get a taste of what's to come with the stream of the first single "Supermegadubstep" here and the band is taking pre-orders for the album online here.

The acclaimed band's 2002 major label debut, "From One," was the antiMusic editor's pick for the best album of the decade in a special that ran in December of 2009.

1. Brutiful
2. Awake
3. Supermegadubstep
4. It's All Over Now
5. Anything U Want
6. Won't Be Home Tonight
7. Running Blind
8. A Hollow Glow
9. Ecstasy
10. Tragic Empire
11. Voices Inside My Head
12. Through the Valley
13. Crawling to the Sky

Ra CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Ra T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.