Metallica's Black Album

Time for The Album of The Week. Let's get a tad ballistic with Metallica's Black Album. This is an album so darn big it doesn't need an introduction. To me, this album just might be the "Opus" of this band. Its crowning achievement. But on the other hand it also may have sent this band into a downward spiral of mediocrity.

Either way you look at it, it is one hell of a record and one of my favorite albums of all time. This album is #255 on Rolling Stone magazines top 500 albums of all time. This album debut at #1 on the Billboard 200 and spent (and this is NOT a typo)�..328 weeks on the Billboard 200 charts. The numbers are staggering. This album also went 16x Platinum. It had 5 Top ten Singles, "Enter Sandman", "The Unforgiven", Nothing Else matters", "Wherever I May Roam" and "Sad But True".

This album made a lot of diehard Metallica fans very angry as it alienated and diluted much of the bands "Thrash Rock" sound that their fans were so loyal to. But it also enamored millions of new fans because of its "radio friendly" more metal style. I have to admit this is my favorite Metallica album for sure.

So Ladies and Germs, on the turn table for your lunch time, from the San Francisco Bay area, released on August 12, 1991 on Elektra and produced by non-other than Bob Rock, the monster that is known as Metallica "The Black Album"


1. "Enter Sandman" James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich, Kirk Hammett 5:29
2. "Sad but True" Hetfield, Ulrich 5:24
3. "Holier Than Thou" Hetfield, Ulrich 3:47
4. "The Unforgiven" Hetfield, Ulrich, Hammett 6:26
5. "Wherever I May Roam" Hetfield, Ulrich 6:42
6. "Don't Tread on Me" Hetfield, Ulrich 3:59
7. "Through the Never" Hetfield, Ulrich, Hammett 4:01
8. "Nothing Else Matters" Hetfield, Ulrich 6:29
9. "Of Wolf and Man" Hetfield, Ulrich, Hammett 4:16
10. "The God That Failed" Hetfield, Ulrich 5:05
11. "My Friend of Misery" Hetfield, Ulrich, Jason Newsted 6:47
12. "The Struggle Within" Hetfield, Ulrich 3:51

Total length:

James Hetfield - lead vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, sitar; lead guitar on "Nothing Else Matters" and harmony guitar solo in "My Friend of Misery"
Kirk Hammett - lead guitar
Jason Newsted - bass guitar, backing vocals
Lars Ulrich - drums, percussion

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

tell a friend about this review