Eddie Vedder and Neil Finn Team Up For Hunters & Collectors Cover

A stream of Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder and Crowded House and Split Enz singer Neil Finn's cover version of Hunters & Collectors' "Throw Your Arms Around Me" has been posted online.

The track is the second song released from the forthcoming 'Crucible - The Songs of Hunters & Collectors' album which was curated by fan, critic, and A&R executive John O'Donnell.

Both Vedder and Finn have performed "Throw Your Arms Around Me" live in concert in the past and teamed up for a "stripped back" version of the track in tribute to the legendary Australian group. Check it out here.

"Crucible - The Songs Of Hunters & Collectors" will feature 30 tracks in full, including 15 tributes and 15 original recordings and will be released on September 27th by Liberation Music in Australia.

Curator O'Donnel had this to say, "It has been an exhilarating journey of reinvention and rediscovery," says O'Donnell, "as a wildly diverse range of artists have stepped forward with passion and creative zeal to record interpretations of fourteen equally diverse Hunters songs. From the more obscure corners of the band's catalogue such as 'Alligator Engine', 'The Slab (Betty's Worry)', 'Dog' through to the classics like 'Throw Your Arms Around Me', 'Holy Grail' and 'When the River Runs Dry', established artists like Eddie Vedder & Neil Finn, Paul Kelly, The Living End and Something For Kate have paid respect while newer acts like The Rubens, Alpine, Matt Corby and Abbe May have gone digging for their own truths in these amazing songs."

Hunters & Collectors' Mark Seymour adds. "I have to say, it is deeply rewarding for me as a writer to know that beyond the years and all the hard work that was done in the crucible of the Australian suburbs, the songs of Hunters & Collectors have reached the cream of Australia's talent, great singers and bands young and older... who have stepped up to record the best of what we delivered in those pubs so many years ago. I am honoured by the respect they have shown. Songs are what we share, and sharing itself is crucial to our identity as a people"

Covers Tracklisting
1. Birds of Tokyo - Talking to a Stranger
2. Eddie Vedder & Neil Finn - Throw Your Arms Around Me
3. Matt Corby & Missy Higgins - This Morning
4. Oh Mercy - The Slab (Betty's Worry)
5. Alpine - Hear No Evil
6. The Living End - Say Goodbye
7. Paul Kelly & Emma Donovan (featuring Jimblah) - True Tears of Joy
8. The Rubens - Holy Grail
9. Husky - Blind Eye
10. Something For Kate - When the River Runs Dry
11. The Panics - Alligator Engine
12. Abbe May - Dog
13. British India - Do You See What I See?
14. Cloud Control - Still Hanging 'Round
15. The Avalanches - Stalking to a Stranger (Planets Collide Remix)


Hunters Collectors CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Hunters Collectors T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



News Reports
Day in Rock:
Tool's Maynard James Keenan Updates Fans On New Album- Marilyn Manson Has Bizarre Onstage Meltdown- Metallica Release Birthday Tribute To Cliff Burton- Muse- more

The Smashing Pumpkins Announce Reunion Tour- Corey Taylor Reveals Timeline For New Slipknot Album- Metallica To Receive Polar Music Prize- Muse Release 'Thought Contagion'- more

Led Zeppelin To Release 'Different' Archival Recordings- Photo Of Metallica's James Hetfield As Cop In Ted Bundy Movie- Iron Maiden Take Action Against Counterfeiters- more

Judas Priest Legend Battling Parkinson's Disease- Metallica's James Hetfield Lands Key Role In Ted Bundy Movie- Ozzy Osbourne Wants To Make New Album After Final Tour- more

Page Too:
Drake's Generous Money Giveaway All Part Of 'God's Plan'- Troy Gentry's Widow Sues Over Husband's Death- The Chainsmokers Release 'You Owe Me' Video- Demi Lovato Unplugs- more

Meek Mill Files Appeal Alleging Unreliable Police Testimony- Kendrick Lamar, The Killers Lead NBA All-Star Weekend- Frank Ocean- more

Ed Sheeran and Eminem Release 'River' Video- Kanye West Returns To Instagram With Special Message- Kodak Black Releases R&B Album 'Heartbreak Kodak'- Remy Ma- more

Elton John Making New 'Lion King' Music With Beyonce- Willie Nelson Fighting Back After Battling Flu- Victoria Beckham Addresses Spice Girls Reunion Speculation- more


Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.