Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane 1957 Riverside Reissue Box Set

Thelonious Monk

Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane's "Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings" is set to be reissued as a deluxe 3-LP vinyl edition box set on June 9th. We were sent the following details:

The new set will feature new artwork, rare photos and 180-gram vinyl pressed at RTI from lacquers cut by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, CA and can be preordered here.

Remastered from the original analog sources, audio will also be released in hi-res digital formats. The collection features such stellar musicians as Art Blakey, Wilbur Ware, Coleman Hawkins, Shadow Wilson, Ray Copeland and Gigi Gryce. Rounding out the package is an insightful essay by the late Orrin Keepnews, who, as producer of the original sessions, was present at the creation of every note.

Coltrane was poised to make a giant leap forward and ready to learn from one of the masters, Monk. In a DOWNBEAT interview Coltrane recalled, "Working with Monk brought me close to a musical architect of the highest order. I learned from him in every way."

Regarding Craft Recordings inaugural release, Sig Sigworth, President, Craft Recordings, shares: "Craft Recordings is built on a dedication to create innovative, high-quality releases. The intersection of John Coltrane and Thelonious Monk in 1957 defines high quality and innovation, so it was an easy choice to have this unique package be Craft Recordings' debut release."

2017 marks what would have been Monk's 100th birthday and this release celebrates the brief but prolific intersection of genius between two of jazz's all-time luminaries.

Disc One
A1. Monk's Mood [false start]
A2. Monk's Mood
A3. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 1]
A4. Crepuscule with Nellie [take 2]
A5. Crepuscule with Nellie [breakdown]
B1. Blues for Tomorrow [first stereo release]
B2. Crepuscule with Nellie [edited: retakes 4 & 5]

Disc Two
A1. Crepuscule with Nellie [retake 6]
A2. Off Minor [take 4]
A3. Off Minor [take 5]
A4. Abide with Me [take 1]
A5. Abide with Me
B1. Ephistrophy [short version]
B2. Ephistrophy
B3. Well, You Needn't [opening]

Disc Three
A1. Well, You Needn't
A2. Ruby, My Dear [with Coleman Hawkins]
B1. Ruby, My Dear [with John Coltrane]
B2. Nutty
B3. Trinkle, Tinkle


Thelonious Monk Music, DVDs, Books and more

Thelonious Monk T-shirts and Posters

More Thelonious Monk News

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Related Stories

Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane 1957 Riverside Reissue Box Set

More Stories for Thelonious Monk

Thelonious Monk Music


News Reports
Day in Rock:
Robert Plant Talks Led Zeppelin 50th Anniversary Celebration- Jimi Hendrix Previously-Unreleased Track Streaming- Foo Fighters Brit Awards Performance Streaming Online- more

Recap: KISS Spark Retirement Speculation With The End Of The Road Move- Slipknot Star Says He Will Never Go Back On Tour Again- Foreigner Announce Very Special Release- more

Stone Temple Pilots Stream New Song The Art Of Letting Go- Judas Priest Preview New Song Traitors Gate- The Monkees Stars Reuniting For Tour- Halestorm, In This Moment Tour- more

Eagles Add More New Dates To North American Tour- Billy Corgan Reveals New Smashing Pumpkins' Song Details- Foreigner Announce Live Orchestra Tour Dates- more

Page Too:
Quincy Jones Apologizes for Shocking Interview Comments- Ed Sheeran Addresses Secret Marriage Rumors- Maroon 5 Headlining NFL Hall of Fame Legends Concert- more

Page Too Rewind: Drake's Generous Money Giveaway All Part Of 'God's Plan'- Troy Gentry's Widow Sues Over Husband's Death- The Chainsmokers Release 'You Owe Me' Video- Demi Lovato Unplugs- more

Migos, Arcade Fire, James Bay Going 'Saturday Night Live'- Rihanna Looks Back And Thanks Mother As She Turns 30- Carrie Underwood Donates $10K To Injured Police Officer- more

Ed Sheeran Sparks Secret Wedding Speculation- Former One Direction Star Zayn Malik Previews New Music- Kesha Forced To Postpone Shows Due To Concert Fall Injury- more


Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.