Fantomas Announce The Director's Cut DVD

(Speakeasy) Fantomas, the supergroup featuring Mike Patton (Faith No More, Tomahawk, Peeping Tom), Buzz Osborne (Melvins), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, MadLove) and Dale Crover (Melvins, Shrinebuilder), will release The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution on DVD and as a standalone audio download on Sept. 6 via Ipecac Recordings.

Filmed at San Francisco's Great American Music Hall on Dec. 31, 2008, the DVD features audio commentary by comedian Neil Hamburger.

Fantômas released the studio version of The Director's Cut in July of 2001. The album tackles a collection of beloved and eerie film compositions including Nino Rota's "The Godfather," Bernard Herrmann's "Cape Fear" and Jerry Goldsmith's "The Omen (Ave Satani)." Upon its release, Pitchfork said the release was "as cinematic as its source material" and NME called it "gleeful butchering."

Two songs featured on The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution were not in the original release of The Director's Cut: Al Green's "Simply Beautiful" and Marc Bolan & T. Rex's "Chariot Choogle."

The Director's Cut Live: A New Year's Revolution track listing:

1. The Godfather
2. Night of the Hunter
3. Cape Fear
4. Experiment in Terror
5. One Step Beyond
6. Rosemary's Baby
7. The Devil Rides Out
8. Spider Baby
9. The Omen (Ave Satani)
10. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
11. Vendetta
12. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
13. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
14. Der Golem
15. Charade
16. Intermission
17. Simply Beautiful
18. Chariot Choogle

Fantomas Music

Fantomas T-shirts and Posters

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.