Metallica's Ride The Lightning and AC/DC's Highway To Hell Milestones

(hennemusic) Sunday marked two significant anniversaries in heavy rock, the 30th anniversary of Metallica's "Ride The Lightning" and the 35th anniversary of AC/DC's "Highway To Hell".

Released July 27, 1984, Metallica's sophomore album was recorded in Copenhagen, Denmark with producer Flemming Rasmussen, who would go on to oversee the band's next two albums.

"Ride The Lightning" features several Metallica concert staples, including the single "Creeping Death", "For Whom The Bell Tolls" and "Fade To Black."

AC/DC's, "Highway To Hell was released July 27, 1979 and the project catapulted the Australian rockers into the mainstream with singles like "Girls Got Rhythm", "Touch Too Much" and the title track.

"Highway To Hell" was the first AC/DC album not produced by Harry Vanda and George Young. Pre-production of the album began in January 1979 with demos cut at Albert Studios in Sydney, Australia, where they met the intended producer, Eddie Kramer. Kramer was fired before a single track had been completed, and Robert John "Mutt" Lange was brought in to replace him. More.

hennemusic is an official news provider for antiMusic.com.
Copyright hennemusic - Excerpted here with permission.

Metallica CDs, DVDs and MP3s

Metallica T-shirts and Posters

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.