Miles Davis DVD Set For Release

(Kayos) It's 1987, and Miles Davis, trumpet in hand, takes the stage in Munich. With another fresh Grammy under his belt (one of eight accumulated throughout his career), he positively captivated the German crowd. That's What Happened: Live in Germany 1987 is the thrilling new DVD to capture this special night, and Eagle Rock Entertainment is proud to deliver this visual masterpiece on April 28.

Ninety-minutes of unmatched musical prowess, That's What Happened showcases the master of innovation and improvisation taking music to magnificent new heights as only he can. Breaking into the wild medley of "One Phone Call / Street Scenes / That's What Happened," traversing a kaleidoscopic array of notes, Davis challenges his ensemble to match his expertise with their respective solos.

The DVD showcases works from his Grammy Award-winning Tutu album, as well as Davis' unique interpretations of Michael Jackson's "Human Nature" and Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time." A 30-minute interview with Davis, and a special feature called "Miles and his Art" are included as bonus material on That's What Happened.

For five decades (until his death in the early nineties), Miles Davis changed the landscape of jazz. It was in the Sixties that Davis incorporated electric pianos and guitars to his ensembles, inspired by Jimi Hendrix's music. Further adding rock and funk rhythms with jazz improvisations, this fusion resulted in masterpieces such as In A Silent Way and b*****es Brew it also created controversy, as musicians, critics, and fans argued over the future of jazz. In addition to launching the careers of many jazz musicians, including Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, Billy Cobham, John McLaughlin and others, Davis has left an incredible catalogue of music.

Track Listing:
1.) Medley: One Phone Call / Street Scenes / That's What Happened
2.) New Blues
3.) Human Nature
4.) Tutu
5.) Time After Time
6.) Portia

Click here to read today's full Day in Rock report

Preview and Purchase Miles Davis CDs

Miles Davis MP3 Downloads



Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.