Big Stars of Yesteryear Turn Up For TV Land Awards

Celebrities from television, film and music all came out Saturday Night for the taping of the eighth annual "TV Land Awards" premiering on Sunday, April 25 at 9 p.m. ET/PT.

Appearances included Billy Crystal, Jay Leno, Betty White, Paula Abdul, Jane Leeves, Wendie Malick, Bob Newhart, Ryan O'Neal and more. Honorees included the cast of "Everybody Loves Raymond" (Impact Award), Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner (Legend Award), the cast of "Bosom Buddies" including Tom Hanks (Anniversary Award), cast members from "Glee" (Future Classic Award), "Charlie's Angels" (Pop Culture Award), "The Love Boat" (Fan Favorite Award) and legendary punk rock band Blondie (Icon Award.) The show was taped on Saturday, April 17th and was hosted by Tim Allen on the historic Stage 15 on the Sony Lot in Culver City.

Some memorable moments included: Singer, dancer, choreographer and TV personality Paula Abdul presenting the cast of "Glee" with the Future Classic Award.

Film star Ryan O'Neal introducing a moving video to Farrah Fawcett during a special tribute to her.

Jazz vocalist Jack Jones, the original voice of "The Love Boat" theme song, kicked off the award show singing the memorable title song as host Tim Allen arrived on stage via his own "cruise ship."

Billy Crystal presented comedy legends and friends Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner with the Legend Award.

Celebrating his 50th year in show business, Bob Newhart presented the cast of "Everybody Loves Raymond" with the Impact Award.

Giving a nod to Future Classic Award winner "Glee," the show concluded with a performance by TV Land's very own Glee Club Choir. Fronted by soloists David Hasselhoff and Marilu Henner and accompanied by TV Land's Choir which included Todd Bridges, Joyce Dewitt, Jamie Farr, Marla Gibbs, Howard Hesseman, Shirley Jones, Richard Karn, Richard Moll, Marion Ross, Jimmie Walker, Marcia Wallace and Fred Willard, the group performed their own rendition of the song that started the "Glee" pop culture phenomenon, Journey's "Don't Stop Believin'."

Music rock legend Blondie brought the crowd to their feet with their performance of "Call Me" and "One Way or Another" after receiving the Icon Award.

Trophy presenters Ari Meyers and Allison Smith were reunited on stage for the first time since their stint as the daughters of best friends "Kate and Allie" on the hit sitcom.

The tribute awards included the following:

Presented by Jay Leno, The Anniversary Award salutes the entertaining sitcom "Bosom Buddies" which centered around two bachelors, Kip and Henry, who are forced into disguising themselves like women when they move into a hotel only for women after their apartment is condemned. Leno presented to the cast – Tom Hanks, Peter Scolari, Donna Dixon, Telma Hopkins and Holland Taylor.

Billy Crystal presented The Legend Award to multi-talented Mel Brooks ("Blazing Saddles") and Carl Reiner ("The Dick Van Dyke Show" and "Oceans 11"), marking the first time this award will be given to two recipients. Brooks and Reiner, the "Renaissance Men of Comedy" – started out on "Your Show of Shows" together.

The Future Classic Award was unveiled by TV Land in 1998 and is presented annually to a show that best exemplifies the qualities of a television show that will stand the test of time and become a television classic. Paula Abdul presented the award to this year's recipient, "Glee." Cast members Dianna Agron, Chris Colfer, Jessalyn Gilsig, Kevin McHale, Jane Lynch, Amber Riley, Mark Salling and Jenna Ushkowitz accepted the award.

The Icon Award was presented by Jane Lynch to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees and pioneers of rock and new wave Blondie. The band received the award for its contributions to music and pop culture through their long and successful career in the music industry. Blondie, fronted by Debbie Harry, performed "Call Me" and "One Way or Another."

Pamela Anderson presented "Charlie's Angels" cast members Cheryl Ladd and Jaclyn Smith with the Pop Culture Award, which honors this show that launched the careers of these talented actresses and brought it into pop culture status. The award presentation also included a beloved tribute to Farrah Fawcett.

Ray Romano and the cast of "Everybody Loves Raymond" - Brad Garrett, Patricia Heaton, Monica Horan, Doris Roberts, Madilyn Sweeten, Sawyer Sweeten, Sullivan Sweeten and creator, executive producer and writer Phil Rosenthal - accepted The Impact Award from Bob Newhart. This award is presented to a show that offered both entertainment and enlightenment, with comedy that reflected reality.

The Fan Favorite Award was presented to "The Love Boat" by the cast of TV Land's anticipated sitcom "Hot in Cleveland" - Jane Leeves, Wendie Malick and Betty White. "The Love Boat," set on a cruise ship where the boat's crew encouraged its weekly guest stars to find romance on the high seas, won the hearts of TV viewers. Cast members Bernie Kopell, Fred Grandy, Ted Lange, Ted McGinley, Lauren Tewes, Jill Whelan and popular guest star and "cuchi cuchi" girl Charo accepted the award.

Now in its eighth year, the "TV Land Awards" pays tribute to classic and contemporary luminaries of television, music and movies. The ninety-minute telecast will feature exhilarating musical performances and will reunite some of the most iconic celebrity TV casts.

Michael Levitt ("Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D List," "Billboard Music Awards," "Scream Awards") is executive producer; Emmy® Award-winning Jeff Margolis is director ("Academy Awards," "American Music Awards," "Screen Actors Guild Awards"); Greg Sills serves as supervising producer ("VH1 Rock Honors," "The Teen Choice Awards," "Nickelodeon Kids Choice Awards"); and TV Land's Larry W. Jones and Sal Maniaci are executive producers.

Click here to read today's full Day in Pop report

Preview and Purchase TV Land CDs

TV Land MP3 Downloads


Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.