Virgin Steele Announce 'Seven Devils Mooshine' Anniversary Box Set

Virgin Steele

Virgin Steele have announced that they have very special plans to celebrate the 35th anniversary of "Seven Devils Moonshine" with the release of a 5 CD box set on November 23rd.

The five disc CDs will feature a total of 88 songs, including 3 CDs that will contain totally new songs and new versions. The package will also include a sticker and a 24 page booklet with new lyrics and photos by founding member and band mastermind David DeFeis.

DeFeis had this to say, "Cheers, Greetings & Salutations Dear Ever Faithful Eternal Metal Listeners and Friends of the Musical Realm & Written Word Domain! I am putting pen to paper today to inform you all about what we have been doing over the past year and what this Box-Set you are now holding in your hands is all about, its backstory...how we arrived here at this place, and perhaps a bit more about where we might be heading.

"As some of you may know we have been re-issuing the Virgin Steele Catalogue bit by bit over the past several years, and in doing so we have consistently been adding copious amounts of Bonus Material to accompany all these various re-issue offerings. The last two albums scheduled as part of the re-issue campaign we began, are the albums: The Book Of Burning & Hymns To Victory. When those two albums first appeared they were released simultaneously, therefore we thought why not once again issue them at the exact same time, but...this time let's include a brand new album and create a kind of Box Set package. Well...once we began planning and recording for such an endeavor we very soon accumulated far more material than what could possibly fit on one disc...so...we thought OK fine...we'll plan on releasing two new discs chock full of new material to go along with these last two re-issues...and...shortly after that decision was made, we managed to record even more new material, so now we have in addition to the two re-issues, (which by the way do contain one bonus track each), well Friends we now have actually three brand new discs of VS material included within this special Box Set release!

"I wish to stress the fact that what we have done here with our Box Set is include 3 brand new albums, not bundle in merely a collection of old bonus tracks we had hanging around for ages and ages... These 3 new discs contain either brand new original songs written and recorded within just these past few months, or brand new re-written covers of songs that we enjoy and felt could be re-cast in the VS style, or...new recordings of classic VS material done either in a special orchestral type setting or stripped way down and re-imagined in vastly different form. Again at the risk of repetition...these aren't tracks that have been sitting around in the vaults waiting...these are all newly recorded tracks completed specifically for this particular Box Set release. I don't know if anyone has ever done this kind of thing before, but we felt that for us it was absolutely necessary to do this, and it makes perfect sense for where we are...at this moment.

"OK Friends with glass in hand as is only proper as proprietor of the Vineyard, I shall be your guide to this Netherworld and I shall discuss and try to reveal a bit of something about the "Spirit" and "Flavor" of each of the 5 Discs contained within this Epic Box Set we call: SEVEN DEVILS MOONSHINE."

Cd 1 "Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)" Vintage 1 - Black Wine For Mourning
(New Album)

1. Seven Dead Within
2. Green Dusk Blues
3. Psychic Slaughter
4. Bonedust (Orchestral Version)
5. Hearts On Fire
6. Child Of The Morning Star
7. Murder In High-Gloss Relief
8. Feral
9. Justine
10. Princess Amy
11. Wicked Game
Clouds Of Oblivion Medley (Tracks 12 & 13)
12. Little Wing
13. The Gods Don't Remember...

Cd 2 "Ghost Harvest (The Spectral Vintage Sessions)" Vintage 2 - Red Wine For Warning
(New Album)

1. The Evil In Her Eyes (Piano & Vocal Version)
2. Feelin' Alright
3. Sister Moon
Summertime Darkness Suite (Tracks 4, 5, & 6)
4. Sweating Into Dawn
5. Summertime
6. Black Leaves Swirl Down My Street
7. Rip Off
The Gods Are Hungry Triptych (Tracks 8, 9, & 10)
8. The Gods Are Hungry Poem
9. The Poisoned Wound
10. The Birth Of Beauty
11. Profession Of Violence...
12. Rock Steady
13. Nutshell
14. Slow & Easy "Intro"
15. Jesus Just Left Chicago
Late Night Barroom Hoodoo Medley (Tracks 16, 17, 18, & 19)
16. Soul Kitchen
17.When The Music's Over
18. Crawling King Snake
19. When The Music's Over "Reprise"
20. Imhullu
The Drained White Suite (Tracks 21, 22, & 23)
21. After Dark
22. Wake The Dead
23. The Graveyard Dance
24. The Triple Goddess
25.Twilight Of The Gods (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)
26. Transfiguration (Live Acoustic Rehearsal Version)

Cd 3 "Gothic Voodoo Anthems"
(New Album)

1. I Will Come For You (Orchestral Version)
2. Queen Of The Dead (Orchestral Version)
3. The Orpheus Taboo (Orchestral Version)
4. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy) (Orchestral Version)
5. The Black Light Bacchanalia (Orchestral Version)
6. Zeus Ascendant
7. By The Hammer Of Zeus (And The Wrecking Ball Of Thor) (Orchestral Version)
The Gothic Voodoo Suite (Tracks 8, 9 & 10)
8. Rumanian Folk Dance No. 3 "Pe Loc"
9. Delirium "Excerpt"
10. Snakeskin Voodoo Man (Orchestral Version)
11. The Enchanter
The Fire & Ice Medley (Tracks 12, 13 & 14)
12. Bone China
13. No Quarter
14. Bone China "Reprise"
Passion In The French Quarter Medley (Tracks 15 & 16)
15. Chloe Dancer
16. Gentle Groove
17. Darkness-Darkness
18. Death Letter Blues
19. Spoonful

Cd 4 "Hymns To Victory"

1. Flames Of Thy Power (From Blood They Rise)
2. Through The Ring Of Fire
3. Invictus
4. Crown Of Glory (Unscarred) (In Fury Mix)
5. Kingdom Of The Fearless (The Destruction Of Troy)
6. The Spirit Of Steele (Acoustic Version)
7. A Symphony Of Steele (Battle Mix)
8. The Burning Of Rome (Cry For Pompeii)
9. I Will Come For You
10. Dust From The Burning & Amaranth (Orchestral Versions) - Bonus Tracks
11. Noble Savage (Long Lost Early Mix)
12. Mists Of Avalon
13. Emalaith

Cd 5 "The Book Of Burning"

1. Conjurtion Of The Watcher
2. Don't Say Goodbye (Tonight)
3. Rain Of Fire
4. Annihilation
5. Hellfire Woman
6. Children Of The Storm
7. The Chosen Ones
8. The Succubus
9. Minuet In G Minor
10. The Redeemer
11. I Am The One
12. Hot And Wild
13. Birth Through Fire
14. Guardians Of The Flame
15. The Final Days
16. A Cry In The Night
17. Queen Of The Dead (Nordic Twilight Version) - Bonus Track

Related Stories
Virgin Steele Reissuing First Two Albums

Virgin Steele Share Special Video Clips

More Virgin Steele News

Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article