Neal Schon Announces Journey Through Time Release With 'Lights' Video


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Neal Schon Cover art
Cover art

(Freeman) Neal Schon has shared a live video for the Journey classic "Lights" to announce the release of his "Journey Through Time" live package on May 19, 2023, which features his special performance that was recorded on February 9, 2018 at The Independent In San Francisco, CA.

This is the show where Neal Schon, founding member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inducted band Journey, first debuted 'Journey Through Time' along with two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and former Journey and Santana bandmate, Gregg Rolie. Joining Schon and Rolie were current Journey member Deen Castronovo on vocals and drums, Marco Mendoza (Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake) on bass, and John Varn on keyboards and vocals.

Performing to a sold out crowd for a benefit show to raise money for victims of the fires that had ravaged the North Bay area of the San Francisco region in October 2017, the band played songs spanning Journey's entire catalog, largely focusing on the band's '70s repertoire, including the band's first three albums, 'Journey', 'Look Into The Future', and 'Next'.

Multi-Grammy nominated Schon founded Journey in 1972 and remains the sole consistent member, having participated in every album and tour to date. Before founding Journey, Schon was also a member of Santana and has performed with a variety of other acts including Bad English, Hardline, and HSAS and with Jan Hammer and Paul Rodgers (Bad Company, Free).

He has released 10 solo albums over the course of his career as well, with his guitar style being described as soulful and melodic and admired by such fellow legends as Eric Clapton and Prince. Journey's worldwide sales have reached over 100 million records, making them one of the world's best-selling bands of all time. Chart-topping hits such as "Don't Stop Believin­'," "Open Arms", "Lights", "Faithfully", and "When You Love a Woman" are regarded as some of the defining songs of the rock n' roll musical canon.

'Journey Through Time' Track List:
1. I'm Gonna Leave You
2. Look Into The Future
3. Kohoutek
4. Daydream
5. La Do La
6. Line Of Fire
7. Walk's Like A Lady
8. Feelin' That Way
9. Anytime
10. Lights
11. Still They Ride
12. Separate Ways
13. Lovin', Touchin', Squeezin'
14. Wheel In The Sky
15. Patiently (Medley)
16. Trial By Fire (Medley)
17. Stay Awhile (Medley)
18. Mystery Mountain
19. Of A Lifetime
20. Just The Same Way
21. Lovin' You Is Easy
Neal Schon - Guitar
Gregg Rolie - Keyboards, Vocals
Marco Mendoza - Bass
Deen Castronovo - Drums, Vocals
John Varn - Keyboards, Vocals

Related Stories
On This Day In Rock 2019 Journey's Neal Schon Invited Steve Perry To Join Him On Tour

Steve Perry Dropped Legal Action Over Journey Trademarks - 2023 In Review

Neal Schon Streams 'Journey Through Time' Live Album

Journey's Neal Schon Releases 'Just the Same Way' Performance Video

Neal Schon Announces Journey Through Time Release With 'Lights' Video

More Neal Schon News