Neil Young Continues Bootleg Series With The Ducks and Santa Monica Flyers Releases


Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Neil Young Bootlegs promo
Bootlegs promo

(Warner Records) Two more releases in Neil Young's Original Bootleg Series (OBS), are available starting with OBS 2, High Flyin' is a totally unique double-live album from the summer of 1977 recorded by a storied Northern California aggregation called The Ducks. It was a band that often made unannounced appearances in their own backyards at clubs like the Back Room, The Crossroads Club, The Catalyst and others, featuring Neil Young (guitar, harmonica and vocals), Bob Mosley (bass and vocals), Jeff Blackburn (guitar and vocals) and Johnny Craviotto (drums & vocals).

In the magical time The Ducks existed, the rumors of their shows took on a word-of-mouth excitement that made those in the small audiences feel like the chosen few and allowed bragging rights for all who were lucky enough to be there. The quartet's set lists included songs from a wide range of the band members' backgrounds and were often decided on the night of the shows.

This new collection of those nights, as well as two evenings at the nearby Magical Devices studio have been bootlegged for decades, and High Flyin' is now an official release many fans never thought would happen. It continues the freewheeling spirit of The Ducks themselves and shows how rock & roll surprises remain limitless.

OBS 6, Somewhere Under The Rainbow features Neil Young with the Santa Monica Flyers, recorded live at the Rainbow Theatre in London. It is a long-cherished show that has been celebrated for its completely spontaneous and high-revved performance featuring Neil Young (vocals, guitar) with the stellar band featuring Nils Lofgren (lead and rhythm guitar, piano, accordion, vocals), Ben Keith (pedal steel guitar, vocals), Billy Talbot (bass, vocals) and Ralph Molina (drums, vocals).

In a night of high-wire performances and semi-unhinged sonics, the concert has taken on a mythic legend in the past 50 years. All the musicians were in a free-form state of mind and swung for the fences on every track. The double-disc album captures a sound and soul that still resonates loudly for its daring, and among Neil Young fans is an achievement that is as unconventional as it is unforgettable. Recording engineer Pete Long's liner notes dive right into the thick of the controversial concert, and help listeners relive a place and time that won't be repeated.

Both are available on vinyl and CD at the Greedy Hand Store at Neil Young Archives (NYA) and music retailers everywhere. Hi-res digital audio will be available at Neil Young Archives and most DSPs. All Greedy Hand Store purchases come with free hi-res digital audio downloads from the Xstream Store at NYA.

OBS 2: The Ducks' High Flyin'
Vinyl Tracklisting:
Side 1
I Am a Dreamer
Younger Days
Gypsy Wedding
Are You Ready For The Country?
Hold On Boys

Side 2
My My My (Poor Man)
I'm Tore Down
Hey Now
Wide Eyed and Willing
Truckin' Man

Side 3
Sail Away
Gone Dead Train
Silver Wings

Side 4
Human Highway
Your Love
I'm Ready
Little Wing
Car Tune

Side 5
Windward Passage
Leaving Us Now
Mr. Soul

Side 6
Two Riders
Honky Tonk Man
Sailor Man
Silver Wings

OBS 6: Somewhere Under The Rainbow
Vinyl Tracklisting:
Side 1
1. Tonight's The Night
2. Mellow My Mind
3. World On A String
4. Speakin' Out
5. Albuquerque

Side 2
1. New Mama
2. Roll Another Number (For The Road)
3. Tired Eyes
4. Tonight's The Night - Part II
Side 3
1. Flying On The Ground Is Wrong
2. Human Highway
3. Helpless

Side 4
1. Don't Be Denied
2. Cowgirl In The Sand

Related Stories
Neil Young's Harvest Moon Released On Limited Edition Clear Vinyl

Neil Young Announces 'Time Fades Away' 50th Anniversary Release

Neil Young And Crazy Horse Release Vinyl Edition Of 'Odeon Budokan'

Neil Young's HARVEST MOON Receiving Special Reissue

Neil Young Releases Lost 1977 Album 'Chrome Dreams'

More Neil Young News