Ringo Starr - Rewind Forward

by Kevin Wierzbicki

Perhaps in a nod to how songs were released back in his early days with The Beatles, Starr has for the past few years doled out his new stuff via 4-song EPs. Regardless of the reason it's nice to hear from the legendary drummer on a regular basis, especially since he's been consistently putting out good music. Rewind Forward begins with the very catchy, radio-ready pop gem "Shadows on the Wall;" it's not surprising that the song has major hooks since it was written by two members of Starr's All-Starr Band, Steve Lukather and Joseph Williams of Toto fame. Beatles fans can probably guess who wrote "Feeling the Sunlight" after one listen; the cut was penned by Paul McCartney and has a sweet melodic bounce and sing-along chorus, both hallmarks of a Macca earworm tune. Ringo wrote the EP's title cut along with the effort's engineer Bruce Sugar and "Rewind Forward" is a hopeful cut, like the others catchy lyrically and also with a George Harrison-like guitar riff. The closing cut "Miss Jean" continues the hit parade; written by Ian Hunter (Mott the Hoople) and Benmont Tench and Mike Campbell of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, the song features twangy guitar and a nod to the rock 'n' roll of the 1950s and '60s. It all makes you wish the effort was longer but no doubt Ringo will come with another EP not too far down the road.


Share this article

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article