(Press Release) Rhino Home Video is proud to present THE WHO: TOMMY AND UADROPHENIA LIVE WITH SPECIAL GUESTS a 3-Disc boxed set for the first time on DVD. The Who play their rock opera masterpieces live with Special Guests Phil Collins, Billy Idol, Elton John, Patti LaBelle, Steve Winwood, and PJ Proby, plus their greatest hits live including "I Can't Explain," "Who Are You?," "I Can See For Miles," "Won't Get Fooled Again," and "Baba O' Riley." With more than 4 hours of music and 3 hours of extras, this special collectible DVD set is one of the most important music releases to date.

The set, showcasing one of the greatest live bands ever-The Who, features a live rendition of their full-blown rock opera about a deaf, dumb, and blind boy on Disc One. TOMMY was performed live in 1989 at The Universal Amphitheatre in Los Angeles, with special guests Elton John, Phil Collins, Billy Idol, Patti LaBelle, and Steve Winwood.

Disc two contains the band's second rock opus, this time built around the story of a young mod's struggle to come of age in the mid-'60s. This live version of Quadrophenia, from the 1996/1997 U.S. Tour was the first time it was performed as Townshend and Daltrey had visualized it, with live action and featuring Alex Langdon in a spellbinding performance as Jimmy, the disillusioned Mod.

The extras include brand-new extensive interviews with Daltrey and Townshend commenting on and interpreting these shows as they are performed. These MX Interactive Commentaries actually allow you to call Roger and Pete up on the screen whenever you wish, without having to stop the show. Other bonus features include MX designed menus, featuring souvenirs and photos of the shows, The Story of Quadrophenia as told by Aubrey Powell with documentary footage including a recently unearthed film of the band performing at a London Pub in 1964 and footage from the Quadrophenia movie, an extensive show photo gallery, and a new interview with Billy Idol. To top this off the DVD set includes a third disc full of live hits running for nearly two hours.

THE WHO: TOMMY AND QUADROPHENIA LIVE WITH SPECIAL GUESTS is presented in Dolby Digital 5.1 surround sound and will be available November 8, 2005 at all retail outlets and at www.rhino.com.

DISC ONE: TOMMY-LIVE at Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles, 1989
It's A Boy
Amazing Journey
Eyesight To The Blind
Cousin Kevin
The Acid Queen
Pinball Wizard
Do You Think It's Alright?
Fiddle About
There's A Doctor
Go To The Mirror!
Smash The Mirror
Tommy Can You Hear Me?
I'm Free
Extra Extra/Miracle Cure
Sally Simpson
Tommy's Holiday Camp
We're Not Gonna Take It

Photo Gallery
Visual Commentary with
Roger Daltrey &
Pete Townshend

I Am The Sea
The Real Me
Cut My Hair
The Punk And The
I'm One
The Dirty Jobs
Helpless Dancer
Is It In My Head?
I've Had Enough
Sea And Sand
Bell Boy
Doctor Jimmy
The Rock
Love Reign O'er Me

The Quadrophenia Story
Visual Commentary with
Roger Daltrey & Pete Townshend

DISC THREE: LIVE HITS Universal Amphitheatre, Los Angeles, 1989
I Can See For Miles
Baba O'Riley
Face The Face
Love Reign O'er Me
Boris The Spider
Join Together
Rough Boys
You Better You Bet
Behind Blue Eyes
Won't Get Fooled Again
Who Are You?

Encore, 1996-97 U.S. Tour
Won't Get Fooled Again
I Can't Explain
The Kids Are Alright
Behind Blue Eyes
Who Are You?

Giants Stadium
New Jersey, 1989
The Acid Queen
Pinball Wizard
A Little Is Enough

Interview with Billy Idol
PKG: Deluxe 8-panel
DigiPak in Slip Sleeve
and booklet with
extensive liner notes.

More News for Who

Preview and Purchase Who music



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2018 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.