Shelby Lynne - Revelation Road Deluxe Edition

Lynne made quite a splash in 2000 with her I Am Shelby Lynne album, an effort that had many proclaiming her the second coming of Dusty Springfield. And even though I Am… and its immediate follow-ups were excellent albums, Lynne got fed up with being told what to do by producers and took on those chores herself. So for the last decade or so she's been unfettered and able to work on finding her own true voice, culminating with the stunning material on Revelation Road. The album is inspired by memories from Lynne's youth and songs like "I'll Hold Your Head" juxtapose the joy of a simple pleasure like eating a scrambled egg sandwich with dark imagery of living in a home with an alcoholic father. That situation eventually ended as badly as it possibly could have; Lynne's father shot her mother to death and then turned the gun on himself, all in full view of Shelby and her sister, singer Allison Moorer. Lynne doesn't pull any punches on Revelation Road; it's clear here that she longs for the innocence she was robbed of at such an early age. But what's even clearer is that she has forgiven her father; these songs are filled with love. Fans who have only admired Lynne's singing have also in Revelation Road a reason to admire the woman. The original version of the album, included here with a few bonus cuts appended, is performed with a full band but the material really has a chance to shine performed solo and acoustically as it is on the included CD "Live at McCabe's" and DVD "Live in London." Also included in the CD-size box is a "the making of" DVD, a souvenir postcard and a booklet with song annotation by Lynne herself.

Get it here.

Shelby Lynne - Revelation Road Deluxe Edition

Share this article
Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google+ Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

More articles for this artist .



News Reports
Day in Rock:
Unusual AC/DC Cover Becomes Viral Hit- Trivium Star Leaves Group and Announces New Band- Guns N' Roses Play First Reunion Show Of 2017- Thy Art Is Murder Reunite- more

Iron Maiden Announce North American Summer Tour- Where Are The New Guns N' Roses and Nirvanas Asks Lars- Dashboard Confessional Release Surprise EP- Ghost- more

Bob Seger Giving Away Glenn Frey Tribute Song- Guns N' Roses Reunion Wasn't Motivated By Money- U2 Add Dates To The Joshua Tree Anniversary Tour- Black Sabbath- more

Day in Pop:
Travis Barker Reacts To Blink-182's First Grammy Nomination- Falling In Reverse Confirm New Music Direction With Surprise Song Release- Wale And Lil Wayne New Song- more

Jennifer Lopez Confirms Drake Collaboration- Lady Antebellum Stream New Single, Announce Album and Tour- Kanye West Course Coming To Washington University- more

Ed Sheeran Makes Billboard History With New Singles- Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban To Duet At The Grammys- Little Big Town Reveal New Details For 'The Breaker' Album- more



• TBT: David Bowie Live In Chicago 2004

• Michael Hornbuckle - Soul Repo

• Saint Blasphemer - Simon Templar

• David Bowie - Station To Station Remaster

• Travel News, Trips and Tips: January 2017 Edition

• The Blues: Big Jay McNeely - Blowin' Down the House: Big Jay's Latest & Greatest

• Bruce Springsteen - Nebraska

• The Blues: Popa Chubby - The Catfish

• Tumbler - Come to the Edge

• Butch Walker - Stay Gold Album of the Year

• The Blues: The James Montgomery Blues Band

• In Tribute: George Michael's Faith Deluxe Edition

• RockPile: Spotlight on Steamhammer/SPV Records

• TBT: David Bowie - Space Oddity 40th Anniversary Special Edition

• Color You - The Grand Trine

• Santa's Jukebox: Jazz Dispensary- Latin Christmas- Bon Qui Qui- more

• Santa's Jukebox: Legacy Vinyl Edition

• TBT: David Bowie's A Reality Tour

• Fallen Asunder - Self-Titled

• Holiday Gift Guide: Music DVD or Blu-ray Edition

• Bassett - Ghost Hwy

• TBT: The Cult, Stabbing Westward, Monster Magnet and Bird3 Live • more

Rock News Stories
• Unusual AC/DC Cover Becomes Viral Hit

• Trivium Star Leaves Group and Announces New Band

• Guns N' Roses Play First Reunion Show Of 2017

• Thy Art Is Murder Confirm C.J. McMahon Return, Stream New Song

• There's No Difference Between Led Zeppelin And The Sex Pistols?

• Panic! At The Disco's Tonight Show Performance Goes Online

• Sikth Recording First New Album In Over A Decade

• Hellyeah Announce Spring Mini-Tour

• Foreigner's Lou Gramm Leads The 80s Cruise Lineup

• Chelsea Grin Stream New Song and Announce American Tour

• Heart's Nancy Wilson Teams With Prince Bandmate For New Group

• Judas Priest's Rob Halford Leads Inaugural The Rock Brigade Podcast

• Slaves Stream New Song 'I'd Rather See Your Star Explode'

• Wintersun Reveal New Album Details

• Metallica Release Video Of Lang Lang Jam

• Megadeth, Bad Company Stars Lead Ronnie Montrose Tribute

• Annihilator Plan First Canadian Tour Since 1993

• Singled Out: Planet Zettler's They Came From Outer Space

• more

B-Side Stories
• Travis Barker Reacts To Blink-182's First Grammy Nomination

• Falling In Reverse Confirm New Music Direction With Surprise Song Release

• Wale And Lil Wayne Release New Track 'Running Back'

• Adele Added As Latest Performer At 2017 Grammys

• Crystal Gayle Inducted Into The Grand Ole Opry

• Wynonna Judd Announces Roots and Revival Tour

• John Mayer Talks 'The Search For Everything Wave One'

• Migos Stream New Track 'What the Price'

• Jam Master Jay Tribute Release By TJ Mizell x Skratch Bastid

• Rapper ILoveMakonnen Comes Out As Gay

• Little Mix Releases Video For 'Touch'

• 6lack Talks Rise To Fame With Free 6LACK

• Future Releases 'Poppin' Tags' Video

• Ed Sheeran Pins Face Scar On James Blunt

• more

Follow Us:

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2016 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.