Silverchair - Best Of Silverchair Vol. 1
CD Review by antiGUY

Silverchair - Best Of Silverchair Vol. 1
Label: Epic
Release Date: 12/12/00

1) Anthem For The Year 2000 
2) Freak 
3) Ana's Song (Open Fire) 
4) Emotion Sickness 
5) Israel's Son 
6) Tomorrow 
7) Cemetery 
8) The Door 
9) Miss You Love 
10) Abuse Me 
11) Pure Massacre 
12) Untitled 
13) New Race 
14) Trash 
15) Ana's Song (Open Fire) (Acoustic Remix) 
16) Madman 
17) Blind 
18) Punk Song #2 
19) Wasted/Fix Me 
20) Minor Threat 
21) Freak (Remix For Us Rejects)

Here is a greatest hits package from Australia's answer to Nirvana. While putting out a greatest hits collection  after only three studio albums is a little ambitious, this is a worthy collection of songs that show why Silverchair is a modern rock favorite. 

You have favorites like Israel's Son, Cemetery, Abuse Me, and The Door. The hits: Anthem For The Year 2000, Emotion Sickness, Ana's Song, Abuse Me, Tomorrow and Freak. Also included is an interesting remix of Freak that doesn't quite measure up to the original, a great acoustic version of Ana's Song plus a couple of great covers of the Black Flag classics Wasted and Fix Me. 

It appears that this collection is not official sanctioned by the band; they recently left Epic Records for Atlantic. Nonetheless, even without the band's blessing this disc lives up to the their short history. Old fans should enjoy the remixes and the cover tunes, while new fans may be turned on to Silverchair's music. 

Out of the deluge of modern rock groups that were thrust into the arena after Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Stone Temple Pilots hit it big, Silverchair stands above the rest. Sure they sound a lot like the afore mentioned bands, but they have something most of the pretenders don't, songwriting ability. In the end, that's what counts the most. With Silverchair the songs are there! 

Purchase online

tell a friend about this article



Day In Rock Reports

Follow Us: Facebook Twitter Feeds

Contact Us - Privacy - antiMusic Email - Why we are antiMusic

Copyright© 1998 - 2019 Iconoclast Entertainment Group All rights reserved.

Please click here for legal restrictions and terms of use applicable to this site. Use of this site signifies your agreement to the terms of use.