Anthrax Reveal Origins Of The Big 4

Bruce Henne | 05-20-2021

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Pin it Share on Reddit email this article

Anthrax DVD cover art

(hennemusic) Anthrax reveal the origins of The Big 4 in the latest installment in their 40th anniversary video series. At a time when they were touring in support of 1987's "Among The Living", the New York outfit's reputation for building the thrash genre alongside a series of important 1986 records from like-minded rockers Metallica ("Master Of Puppets"), Slayer ("Reign In Blood") and Megadeth ("Peace Sells...But Who's Buying?") was coming into focus, according to drummer Charlie Benante.

"I always look at those four records that each band put out," says the rocker, "each one of those records does not sound the same but yet they are a part of this volcano that just erupted."

While each group would go on to have successful and lengthy careers independent of each other, it wasn't until 2010 that the lineup would tour together for the first time; one of the performances was captured for the home release of "The Big Four: Live from Sofia, Bulgaria."

Anthrax are marking their 40th anniversary this year with the historical video series, which traces their career since forming in new York City in 1981. Stream the episode and read more here.

Related Stories

Anthrax Announce 40th Anniversary Tour Dates

Anthrax Revisit For All Kings On 40th Anniversary Video Series

Anthrax Look Back At The Big Four For Anniversary Series

Anthrax Share 'The Devil You Know' From 40th Anniversary Livestream

Anthrax Look Back At 'We've Come For You All'

Anthrax Regroup For The 2000s As 40th Anniversary Series Continues

Anthrax Share Episode 20 Of Anniversary Video Series

Anthrax Face Lineup Change And Grunge Era On Anniversary Video Series

Anthrax Look Back At 'Sound Of White Noise'

Anthrax Revisit 1992 Lineup Change On 40th Anniversary Series

News > Anthrax